We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for a nice evening”
Review of Brio - CLOSED

Brio
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Brio is set in a beautiful historic 120 year old building in the Cape Town CBD. We offer a plush, opulent environment with live music every evening.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best for a nice evening”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Friday evening, the jazz band playe very good. The lady is a good singer. The meals are delicious and service is good. Good wine list. The restaurant will bring you back to the beginning of the last century. After your dinner try the excelent coctails at the bar.

Best place to spend an evening with your girl.

ps. The owner is a very good singer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcs2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, excellent music, need to work on the menu”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A group of 6 girls met for a girl-friend's birthday dinner in June this year. We had a fabulous time, especially as we moved on to the '80's club (Reserve, I think it's called) and danced the night away after our meal.

The decor is beautiful and they've done an amazing job with the re-renovation. I'd been to Riboville before they refurbed and renamed and found it a bit cold and impersonal. Brio is warm and elegant. The service is very good and the jazz is fantastic, but the menu really needs some creative flair. Things like deep-fried camembert with cranberry, grilled calamari, pepper fillet. Food that was popular in the 90's. Done very well at Brio, although my fillet was over-cooked. Very tasty but for the setting and ambience, I expected much more.

We will definitely go back for the jazz experience and the opulent, elegant feeling and I do recommend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a wonderful lounge atmosphere with a great live band”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

A great experience from start to finnish with good food, exceptional live band that did not kill the classics and was a pleasure to sit and lose yourself in.

Owner Skippy was on the ball and made the effort to get to know the whole table.

Thoroughly recommend as a place to go relax, eat great food and listen to wonderful music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiragCaoeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Brio - Cape Town Glamour and fine dining at its best!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

What an awesome experience! From the moment you step into Brio it feels as though you are transported back in time....from the valet parking to the incredible decor and amazing food, there is nothing to fault about this restaurant. It is not often that a restaurant owner is as present and involved as this one. He personally greeted each of the guests at their table and checked in regularly eventually joining us after dessert for a chat. He even joined the jazz band on stage and gave superb renditions of some classic, timeless songs. The service was unassuming and professional, the waitron well educated on the menu and able to provide very good advice. The highlights of the evening food wise were definitely the Roquefort snail starter and peppered fillet mains. Definitely a place to visit again - for a romantic dinner or a fun evening out with friends it caters for everyone and is the epitome of style, elegance and a unique dining experience in Cape Town! Thank you Brio!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can not wait to return to this amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is absolutely now my most favourite restaurant in Cape Town.
This was my second time to Brio, the first visit really was memorable, I just had to return to make sure that it was as good as my last visit, and of course it was. From the stylish, sophisticated decor to the amazingly talented entertainment, food to die for, and excellent service, I certainly will be returning.
A big thank you to Skippy and his very lovely attentive staff.

Diana & Mark Swellendam

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Grace7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing