We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value!! Will be back!!”
Review of La Boheme

La Boheme
Ranked #25 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: also operates during the day as La Bunixa tapas bar.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb value!! Will be back!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I sat outside on a warm sunny evening in a vibrant area of Sea point. We opted for the 2 course special. The beef and couscous tagine, the pork belly and the salmon tartlet were all superb meals. The wine list is fantastic and great value. The service is efficient, relaxed and friendly. Thanks for a great meal...we will defiantly be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    250
    58
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
880 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 947 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent value”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is packed with locals (make a reservation!), and I can completely understand why. 130 Rand gets you 3 gourmet courses. Not necessarily the BEST food we had in South Africa
(but near the top), but probably the best value. And some eclectic, interesting dishes you won't eat elsewhere. Nice setting in a safe, relaxed neighborhood. And the restaurant seems to attract young and old, so everyone will feel comfortable. I would certainly eat here again on my next trip to Cape Town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food and full of locals”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were lucky enough to get a reservation and we were not disppointed. The food was excellent and there were very large portion sizes. There were no table menus, they waiter brought up some large chalk boards with the food listed on it. YOu had the choice of Ala Carte or a 2 course (starter/main) or 3 course meal. The wine list was also excellent. It did not target any specific age group so everyone felt comfortable there. It was up there with one of the best restaurants I have been to in Cape Town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chickidee82016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always have Alexander Grappa for me”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have had so many great meals at this wonderful restaurant that it is impossible to choose one particular event, the parmesan potatoes were so yummie and I once made a mal of it, sadly no longer on the menu, just great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

La Boheme is a must go in Sea Point
The 3 Course Menu for R 130.- offeres a great value for Money.
The service is outstanding.
Wine selection is awesome especially you can get a lot of wines by glass.
I enjoy it everytime.

Helpful?
Thank TherryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Boheme also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing