We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Meal in a great setting!”
Review of Voila! - CLOSED

Voila!
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had friends here from Holland and wanted to go to Le Petit Tart, but because they are closed on Sundays, we decided to try Voila, which is just across the street from the Cape Quarter Piaza.
We met at 10h15 and when we entered it was buzzing with people. We all liked the stylish interior (modern, yet very homely) and all admired the beautifully arranged cake table stacked with freshly baked kilojoules to die for! We also liked the layout of the restaurant which has an open plan kitchen.
We all though the coffee was excellent and two of our friends who are tea lovers, were impressed with their selection of exotic teas.
We all ordered different meals. I had the rosti with spinach, feta and tomato. My partner had the poached eggs with salmon. Yum Yum YUM!!!
We were ALL highly impressed with the quality of the food. It was all super fresh and very tasty.
Choosing something sweet afterwards was difficult, because there was such a big variety of beautifully freshly baked pastries and cakes! After asking the lovely hands on owner for advice, we had the Cheese Cake. And what an amazing choice it was!!! Definitely one of the best in Cape Town.
Service was excellent - our waitress was very attentive and also helpful and knowledgeable.
All in all a really lovely experience, a great new discovery and a place where we will go back to for sure.
Voila is a gem, and I can highly recommend it!
Thank you Voila!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Voila!, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Voila!. We appreciate your feedback and look forward in offering you great service and seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Voila! Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I ordered the anchovy pasta for lunch - but there were no anchovies in the dish.
I informed the waiter about this and requested that the anchovies be added to pasta. The waiter even agreed and apologized that there were no anchovies in the pasta!

After 10 minutes of waiting for the anchovies to be added to the pasta, they returned my plate (with no visible anchovies) - I assumed they only put on the anchovy oil/dressing over the pasta to cover up for the missing ingredient. Still, no anchovies in the dish - and they expected me to pay for this below-standard meal.

Missing-in-action manager who is not on the floor watching what her waiters/chefs are doing - lack of management.
This restaurant is underestimating customers' knowledge and experience when it comes to quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Strictbutfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Voila!, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Voila!. We appreciate your feedback and apologise for the bad experience. We assure you that this will not happen again and look forward to serving you in the near future. Have a wonderful day, the "Voila! Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Voila is a great friendly place to have a glorius lunch and drink in the lovely Cape Town sun. The food is fresh and delectable with a fine choice of local wines. It's an ideal spot to have a catch up with friends while people watching.

Thank DnA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Voila!, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Voila!. We appreciate your feedback and look forward in offering you great service and seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Voila! Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I loved the mushroom sandwich on the healthy bread. It was delicious. The pastries looked wonderful but we were too full to try any. I took a photo of them though and it was beautiful. My husband had the chicken pesto pasta and said it was very good. The prices are very reasonable and our waiter was very attentive. Seemed liked a great place to hang out.

1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Voila!, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Voila!. We appreciate your feedback and look forward in offering you great service and seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "Voila! Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

This is the sort of place to meet with your female friends for a great morning or mid morning or afternoon of great chats, catching up or simply enjoying sweet treats which are also good on the eye. They have a great tea selection and other beverages such as hot chocolate, coffee and even healthy juices such as carrot, apple and so on. The place is so pretty located on the square on top at Cape Quarter shopping centre. Yes it has this European feel to it so it might not appeal to those looking for the authentic little café experience, however the food is good and creative. They do breakfasts, brunch with gourmet röstis, tea and cakes. They have a huge table in the middle which is nicely decorated, it looks like a very girly table with pink, florals and a chandelier hanging above it. On the table itself are domes with cupcakes and other cakes, brownies with pistachio, heart-shaped cookies dipped in chocolate and other sweet nibbles like truffles or sweet balls of awesomeness! Perfect for a lazy day out with the girls and you can even bring your child as they can run, play safely on the square while you keep a watchful eye on them. Space enough to store or handle juggling with pram, baby etc :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mademoiselle_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voila! also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing