We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Easy Sunday Lunch”
Review of Planet Restaurant

Planet Restaurant
Ranked #141 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: The glittering Planet Restaurant and Planet Bar are chic, contemporary spaces in which to enjoy out-of-this-world dishes and cocktails. Dining with the stars is guaranteed at Cape Town's most stylish restaurant. Crystal balls grace the entrance and the decor includes a galaxy-themed carpet, planetary chandelier and twinkling ceilings. Matching the decor are Chef Rudi Liebenberg's heavenly menus, journeys of gastronomic discovery featuring the freshest local ingredients. The unique, intimate atmosphere of the Planet Restaurant cellar is an ideal venue for a perfect private party.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Easy Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We made decided to check out the Mount Nelson hotel on a Sunday afternoon. Had no reservation for lunch but we were greeted by friendly sincere staff who gave us some options. We went for lunch at the Planet Bar terrace over looking the beautiful gardens.
We had succulent oysters, a genuine Caesar salad and grilled steaks. Superb!
Food was excellent! The service was exceptional!
And what a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
We could stroll through the hotel gardens after lunch.
This is such a lovely serene retreat in the heart of Cape Town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank miz_ferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    86
    32
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, UK
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Short of perfect”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked for the vegetarian tasting menu and it was very good, even if it was a case of how many different ways can you serve vegetables. Not a lot of substance but all very attractive and tasty. My husband had the wine pairing too, which was done well.
Unfortunately I feel the restaurant lets itself down by not imposing a dress code for the evening. Most customers were obviously out for a special meal and to have several spoil the occasion by wearing shorts or other very casual wear is a shame.
When we were there a table near us was conducting non other than a business meeting, in very casual attire, with phones, laptops and papers all over the show. whilst the restaurant floor is large and not over crowded this was an unpleasant distraction. The table next to us was obviously even more disturbed by this and asked several members of staff to do something about the situation. It transpired the offending table were resident at the hotel (shouldn't make a difference) and although the staff did eventually ask them to put the laptop away, they did so reluctantly and only really when their food arrived. The staff handled the situation poorly in our view, but the mans persistence resulted in him being invited back at a later date at end of his holiday, so maybe I should have said something too!
For us the above commotion took the edge off a special evening probably never to be repeated.
The 'planets' décor is tasteful but doesn't go with the original and existing décor that remains. Stick with the traditional and do it well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for highlighting that your dinner was truly great. The dress code is a tricky one to address with some guests as patrons all react so differently when being spoken to. Whilst we appreciate every guest who makes an effort to dress appropriately, we also want our patrons to be comfortable. We will focus on guiding our staff accordingly to be able to handle these situations with more tact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great evening at the Planet restaurant last night. After reading some of the other reviews, made our reservation with some trepidation. But, we had a great evening. From the start, service was excellent. With carpeting thoughout the restaurant, acoustics are excellent, and you can carry on a conversation without lip reading, quite rare in this day and age. Great freshly baked bread to start, with a couple of little canapés thrown in to get us going. The food was really good. I had the marron starter, which was delicious. For main course, I had the monk fish in a curry sauce, with mussels, which was very tasty. Other guests had the kabeljou, which they thought excellent, and the tortellini. My wife's salad starter was one of the best she has had anywhere. For dessert, we had the panna cotta, which tasted great, but could have been a bit firmer. A very nice finishing touch was the selection of choccies and macaroons presented at the end of the meal. Really yummy. Very good wine list. Not cheap, but definitely a five star experience. The only very small criticism is that the background music, although fairly muted, was a little out of keeping. Soft jazz, or classical would have been preferable to the pop style tunes that were played. All in all, a most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for a wonderful sincere review - we are happy to know that the entire experience was a great one for you, from ambience, food, wine and service. We are experimenting with music styles a little, so your feedback is welcomed, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great location with nice views onto the gardens / nice interior.

The service was a bit over attentive , with numerous waiters arriving
with different courses / drinks with the meal.

Food was nothing special - mushroom risotto had a vinegary taste which overwhelmed the dish.
Steak was ok - a bit overcooked.
Some of the bread rolls given to us at the start were unedible - crust was too hard to eat.

Maybe we were unlucky on our visit as I can see that on a good day , this would be an excellent place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DunTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
It is really sad to hear that our Planet Restaurant did not allow for the dining experience you were hoping for. Our breads are all home baked and only fresh bread is served, but if the crusts are too hard, we will ask the bakers to monitor this. We have raised your other concerns with the kitchen and service teams to improve upon. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked a supper for 4 at the Mount Nelson and came away disappointed. The menu was sparse in any case and were told on arrival that two items were not available. My partner had a very strange Salade Nicoise comprising seared tuna steaks which ammounted to Sushi! We sent it back for something recognisable, but her main fish course was nothing special either. The service was excellent when it arrived but the staff were not attentive or in evidence even when there were few other diners present. It is a famous hotel but free-wheeling on a reputation earned in the past. The situtation might have been recovered if a member of management had deducted the 'Nicoise' from the bill, but we had to send that back as well to have it corrected.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundula W, Manager at Planet Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to bring some short-comings to our attention. We are sorry to hear that the nicoise starter was not to your satisfaction, and I agree, this should have been removed from your bill. We will address the issues with our teams, and will certainly try our best to rectify the concerns mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planet Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Planet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing