We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive visit to Langa Township”

Camissa - Day Tours
Ranked #81 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When we started the Business six years ago our focus and specialist expertise was in the townships where two of Camissa owners once resided. Having gained extensive freelance guiding experience for various tour operator service providers in Cape town we so a gap in the market for a tour operator that will offer a service that is different and unique putting more emphasis on traditions customs values and impact of urbanization on all the above rather than focusing on the political history which lead to the development of township communities our business is simple and focused. We conduct Day Tours in Cape Town and its surroundings and facilitate township marketing experiences.The Camissa Team looks forward to hosting you on one of our tours we invite you to do the right thing and get the full picture.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Impressive visit to Langa Township”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Samantha did a great job at taking the time to explain the "Apartheid"-history and current situation of South Africa. She took us to Langa Township where we visited the baptist church (including choir!) and after that we walked through the township with a resident. In that way we were able to really see how people live and to talk to them. I would say this is a must see when in the Cape Town area, just to see the other side of this great city. Definitely recommend to book a tour with Samantha / Camissa!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Owner at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are please to have delivered beyond your expectations and to hear that you were touched by the experience we provided you we value highly your feedback thank you kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful wonderful wonderful.... Samantha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a wonderful tour to do! Go and see the adventures of the township and see how wonderful it is to be around some great people! Well for me 1-10 rate I would definitely give this tour 10+ I really enjoyed the trips to the township... Well done Samantha A+

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KingFabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Owner at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback received we value and appreciate to hear from you it give us an opportunity to reflect back and see if we are meeting your expectations as our client and this can only help us to become better and better and thanks to you with you feedback

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Eye opening and moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited two townships in Cape Flats region of Cape Town with Camissa. Our guides were residents of the Langa Township that we toured and their knowledge of the area and pride in its progress infused the experience. A big plus was that in Langa we got out of the van and walked through through the community, visiting a school and the home of one of our guides. I was struck by the contrast between the harsh conditions in which many of the township's residents live and the optimism that seems to pervade the neighborhoods. To get a glimpse of the complexity and promise of Nelson Mandela's dream first-hand and unvarnished, spend a half-day on this must-do tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to post this review we appreciate your feedback and this is how we are able to improve the services that we render to our guest and try to go the extra mile to meet your expectation and beyond what you have expected ..thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London england
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Samantha is a real inspiration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We took this tour with Samantha, who is an amazing guide and inspiration, having come from Langa herself. We met a local guide who took us by foot through the township, seeing various types of accommodation, from a room for 3 families to an iron shack, with some cardboard on the walls in order to keep out the cold! It is a very humbling experience and would urge everyone to do this! See the other side of South Africa! However, there are craft stalls and we felt that we should buy from them. We were very upset to find that the same items we could buy at the V & A (and I'm sure from other places) for at least half the price if not more! Suppose it's a case of seeing the tourists coming .....!!! Apart from this, a most worthwhile tour and one I would definitely recommend with Samantha!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate your time in putting this feedback together and it is good to hear that you have enjoyed the tour with Samantha and that you have learn from this experience.... and about the craft stalls, as we try by all means to make sure that township tourism benefit the people in the communities that we visit during the tour and those who are involved in putting the program together and rendering the services to the guests but this should not be done in the expense of a tourist being over charged it should be a win win situation and there should be no reason that this is being achieved by the people selling craft and over charging the guest. We will make a follow up on that and find ways to rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tour ship tour with Samantha of Go Camissa tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

On Friday September 20, I took a tour through Langa township with Samantha. It was one of the most moving events of the entire trip to South Africa! Samantha introduced us to a guide who took us into several of the places people were living. To say I was not prepared for the extent of poverty and need that the people live with is an understatement. Three families living in a small room, a common kitchen serving 17 families, the effects of apartheid are still evident and it appalled me but opened my eyes to the difficulties Africans still endure. Samantha took us to a market garden, where a young man was experimenting with organic farming. There is a kitchen preparing a hot meal for some seniors and people who need the meals- how inspiring it was to see how the energy of this young man to help work this piece of land to grow vegetables and help the people of the township. We also visited a nursery school for prekindergarten aged children. The children were playing on carpeting directly placed on dirt. It was raining too so one can only imagine who the conditions would have been after a few days of rain. It was truly a gift to be able to meet and talk to the people there, to try to understand the challenges of the people who live In the Township. We met well educated, intelligent,articulate people who struggle to create a living and a life for themselves and their children and grandchildren. Samantha has first hand knowledge of Langa township and is a role model and employer to some of the people there because she has created a career for herself and not forgotten to help the people in the Township. It was a tour that forced me to examine my values and try to find ways to gain more awareness of the affects of apartheid and racism. Please take a tour with Go Camissa Tours!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for writing up a review from what you have experience while you were with us on our tour we try by all means to educate, raising awareness sharing our experiences telling our stories to many visitors that have visited our communities and we feel honored to be visited by people who comes from all corners of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camissa - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Camissa - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing