We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Recommended - deepened our understanding hugely

We did a township tour round Langa via District Six. It was tremendously insightful and deepened... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2018
Edward B
Highly recommended

If you want to understand South Africa-than take this tour. Nelson is a passionate and knolegable... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2018
KingGeorgeV
,
NYC
Read all 108 reviews
  
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
84
16
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
16
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews township tour gospel church better understanding robben island a real eye opener amazing guide history of south africa kanha district nelson housing gladstone struggles highlights waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Thank you to Xolani and Yandissa. We joined in the Palm Sunday service and were guided around Langa township. We enjoyed the morning very much and learned a great amount.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Public Relations Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tour! It were very nice guys that guided us and it was very interesting. A really interesting afternoon and they helped us as much as they could as our timetable changed last minute. Two guides from the townships tell you everything there is to know and you get to go inside the houses.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Cynt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Public Relations Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We took the Camissa Gospel tour. The tour bus was 45 minutes late.
We were scheduled to visit 3 townships. Only visited on one. That was disappointing and no one acknowledged it.

Both of the tour guides were very good. Really appreciated the history and current realities of living there.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Thelma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Public Relations Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback and wish to apologize for the delay at times we have more pick up stop for other guests, on our schedule tour we visit only two Townships Langa and Gugulethu.
We apologize for the delay during the pick up time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

A highlight of many, many holidays across the world. Fascinating and extremely humbling at the same time.

Khonaye Tuswa our facilitator was excellent, with a wealth of accurate information and facts about South Africa in general & the Townships. The church visit was simply incredible, we cannot recommend it highly enough or Camissa Tours.

The folks in the Township and incredibly friendly and happy to chat and the welcome & singing in church is simply amazing.

We learned much about ourselves today and I would encourage anyone with an interest in the real South Africa to do this tour.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Holidayhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Public Relations Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for taking time to give us this feedback we really appreciate your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

An eyeopener and a must for all tourists that visit SA. The tour was well balanced, unbiased and gives you a honest view of how people live in the Langa (Black Township). You visit a day care center, walk through the township with a local guide (JaJa) and visit the home of 16 families sharing a small space full off black mold, peeling paint, substandard plumbing, etc. Some of the money charged for the tour is invested in the community. Samantha gave her unbiased view of growing up during apartheid and her ability to move up and out of the township.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank wanderwomantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camissa-tours, Public Relations Manager at Camissa - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback we value your time and comment about this tour and thank you for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews