We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during July and were very impressed. They were situated very central to the waterfront shops and restaurants and we felt totally safe walking around. Security is excellent. Housekeeping was excellent and it was very quiet. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    72
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
125
101
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for five weeks while he was working a drilling job in Cape Town in October 2012 and it was amazing! I was on my own a lot and it always felt very safe, love how quick it was to walk to the waterfront, which is where I would go to do our groceries and shop (pretty much how I spent most of my time!). Loved the use of the gym and the canals throughout were beautiful, so miss Cape Town, hopefully we'll be back one day! We claimed everything on the business, so unsure of how much it all cost, I'd say pretty expensive but so worth it, especially for the safety aspects.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovely view of the waterfront, extremely friendly & helpful staff, close proximity to the Victoria Wharf and the aquarium. Overall excellent service all round!!! There are several restaurants in the area and this gives you a wide choice of cuisines to experiment on.

Room Tip: You need to book at least a month in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in this good standard accommodation in Cape Town. As other reviews have said the security was very good and we had no complaints about the housekeeping as the standards were good. The accommodation was very good, we had an apartment looking over the canal so we had lovely views and it was very quiet and peaceful so no problems sleeping at night. The bed was very comfy and all the equipment was good. We did have to pay for our wifi, but it worked pretty well. The location was excellent being an easy walk to all the Waterfront attractions. I would love to go back to Cape Town again as I absolutely loved it, we climbed Table Mountain up and down (the cable car wasn't working as it was windy weather), visited the winelands, Cape Point and Boulders beach. We also did the very moving township tour and Robben Island. I would recommend staying in this accommodation if you want to be close to lots of safe restaurants and shops. There is one small downside and that was some of the reception staff who were rather surly and miserable and not always very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jathinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for a few weeks in a good sized apartment in April/May. So, facilites are goo, security are courteous. Locations was ace. Lived that there was a working dock not so far away. Better to watch than some sterile view.

Village and life staff were pretty good on the whole, and being that close to the waterfront was brilliant. Some amazing food in the food barn there. Tours could be organised from the reception, and loved Mr Deliver and am converted to Steers burgers! Not classy, but hey, think it was nearly as good as Nobu at the one and only (ok, over stating it, but it was a good burger).

As to a previous review regarding items in rooms going missing, well that happens everywhere, and SA is still largely the 3rd world. So yes, it shouldn't happen, but you have to be prudent with your valuables anywhere, and Africa is definitely one of them. I locked anything like that in a bag and stashed it to minimise finger trouble. Remember that they earn very little.

Something worth noting after i saw a disgruntled northerner, is that the complex has many different management companies and a mix of rented and owned properties, so if your neighbour is having work done in the day, it's not necessarily anyones fault, and they may not have been informed. so dropping a cog at someone about something they may have no control over is going to ruin your day as well as theirs. Not something i was affected by (some drilling in the day but not at night) but just so you know.

So all in all - great.

Room Tip: Remember that this development has owned apartments as well as rented. If you are expecting a non w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Character.

We where made welcome, the breakfast was AMAZING!!! The location rocks. But the hotel does lack a little personality.

The Wifi was always on the blink and every time I called up or went down to reception I was made to feel like I was a pain in the [--]. Not good for such an expensive place.... Wait not good for any place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2people1lifecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Everyday of the seven we stayed, we said that the Hotel was in the best location for a stay in Cape Town. The waterfront must be the safest place to spent your time.
The hotel looks after your every need. The amount of care we received could not be bettered. From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel we were treated like royalty.
The areas around the hotel has all you need from shops, fast food, cafe bars, a ferris wheel, medium class restaurants, top class restaurants, liquor store etc..
The free wi-fi in the hotel is a bonus and the fact that the V & A Waterfront offers free wi-fi all over the waterfront is just brilliant.
If I come back to Cape Town it will be V&A Hotel everytime.
P.S. Their breakfast is 6 star and matches the best I have ever had.

Room Tip: Even numbered room overlook the square at the back and odd numbered rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation

Property: V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Address: 1 Dock Road | 8001, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The V&A Marina Residential is located next to the V&A Waterfront shopping center and Cape Town Harbour. It offers luxurious self-catering apartments on the water's edge, either overlooking the lagoon or the canal waterways. Each apartment has been uniquely styled and furnished and includes a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and a comfortable lounge with a satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing