We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base to explore the waterfront” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A good base to explore the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Marina, the apartment was well appointed, clean but it could with a spruce up. It was nice to sit on the balcony and just chill out watching the world go by. The price was competitive with the local hotels if you are booking more than one hotel room. You can book through UK travel companies and can get some good deals. The complex is secure and the gate security men helpful especially when you need to contact the letting agent. It is self catering and you can order food from local takeaways. It is only a short walk away from the waterfront were there is a supermarket, bars and restaurants plus a shopping mall were you can find a great selection of shops. From the waterfront you can get the sightseeing buses, taxis, boat charters and helicopter rides. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear lancsprop1
Thanks very much for a truly great review. We appreciate getting your feedback and hope to see you again soon at the Marina. Please keep in touch with us on our Facebook and Twitter pages.

All the best

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    71
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
99
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

these apartments are really cool for a stay in cape town. there is basically everything a little family needs for a having a great time. there is security parking area underneath with direct access to the flat. the flat has spacy balconies with views on the marina, table mountain, the sea and the city as well. the apartment is fully equipped and provides high standards (washing machine, dish washer etc). we liked the style a lot of both the interior of the apartment as well as the whole compund with little channels and good access to nearby waterfront. a very enjoyable stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Michael

Thank you for taking the time to write such a stunning review of the Marina, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will share your review with the staff at the Marina as further inspiration for the work that they do. We hope to see you again soon, many happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

So we booked very early (April) for the new year eve time, and were informed in November of a double booking, and got kicked out (family of 5). Very annoying given that at that stage it is hard to find any accomodation in Capetown for new year's eve, and second for whatever is left one has to pay much more at this stage. Most annoying then, the hotel held on to the deposit of approx $1000 (withdrawn since April) and wouldn't have noticed or returned unless we would have informed the online agent (booking.com). Very unprofessional booking system and procedures.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi

We apologise if you were aggrieved due the double booking, occasionally there are isolated cases where a double booking pulls through onto our system via one of the channel managers such as Booking.com. We always look at how we can accommodate our guests and if we cannot accommodate them at any of the self-catering hotels we would refund the guests.

However it takes 14 working days for any refunds to be processed and it can take up to 21 working days for international card holders to receive a refund from their bank.

We are glad that you were finally refunded and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at V&A Marina for two nights.Booked two apartments - a one bedroom and a two bedroom unit.on checking in we were told the second apartment will only be ready a hour later!! Well it was ready but run down - dishwasher stank , doors would not open , Aircon unit kept on switching on ( although switched off!) . Garden was a mess , weeds everywhere and dead plants and empty pots on the patio. Noise level was very high in this unit ( A Block) . Carpets were worn and the whole unit was shabby. Positives - walking distance to Waterfront , touristy but a good experience.Overall not a very positive experience.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by pics !! Ensure you do have a view by asking which block you are staying ?Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Bathawk,

Thanks for staying with us at the Marina and we are disappointed that although you liked the one apartment you felt that the second was not up to standard. We will look into all the points you mentioned and ensure they are addressed.Wishing you many happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Expensive shopping on the waterfront. Nice view of table mountain as with everywhere in the city. Easy parking. Winds can get very strong. Overall underwhelming. The waterfront seemed very touristy and food was priced accordingly. Try to avoid going during peak hour as roads are very congested around that area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ironkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a shame this lovely experience was marred by having a dress stolen from the apartment. It was a brand new dress but not that expensive (luckily) but this has spoilt the stay.
We also had a flood the first time we used the shower but we managed to unblock the drain, the shower tiles were mouldy.
The sofa was also a sofa bed and it collapsed when you sat on it.
The wifi kept turning off.
The positives:- it was spacious and on the whole clean (other than the tiles). The location was great and the views from the balcony were lovely.
Just a shame that the theft has meant we minded the rest.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We have no record of such an incident in any of the apartments we manage at Marina Residential. Please note that apartments in the Marina are managed by different companies, our units are managed under the Home from Home brand. If the guest did not book with us then this review has been posted on the wrong account. However if the guest stayed with us then we will investigate this matter and ensure it is resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during July and were very impressed. They were situated very central to the waterfront shops and restaurants and we felt totally safe walking around. Security is excellent. Housekeeping was excellent and it was very quiet. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation

Property: V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Address: 1 Dock Road | 8001, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The V&A Marina Residential is located next to the V&A Waterfront shopping center and Cape Town Harbour. It offers luxurious self-catering apartments on the water's edge, either overlooking the lagoon or the canal waterways. Each apartment has been uniquely styled and furnished and includes a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and a comfortable lounge with a satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing