We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Exceptional !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

When I was arranging our trip the agent recommended staying 5 nights at the Marina apartments. I didn't know what to think, and to be honest did not check TA !( Why I don't know.)
When we arrived all I saw was a huge number of apartments some facing the road, others the canal. Luckily we were canal side. When we stepped into the apartment we were astonished at the high standard of the furnishings. All amenities were available to so we knew that we were going to enjoy the time spent there.
The complex is very safe but best of all is the proximity to the restaurants and bars. A ten minute walk before dinner just got us in the right mood. A wonderful place and one which we were sorry to leave.
If you are going to Cape Town don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for a truly exceptional review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to follow us on social media and to visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    71
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
99
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sf
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the apartments as the hotel was fully booked. They had full kitchen with newer appliances and washer/ dryer. It is a short walk to the waterfront. We were able to sit on the deck overlooking the canal- watching people kayak - while we had breakfast. Defiant leu would stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Christee B

Thanks for a great review of the Marina apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent the last night of our visit to South Africa in V&A Waterfront Apartment. It was a stunning two bed-room apartment. The location is great and we can walk to V&A Waterfront through another gate of the development.

The rooms are very nice. We cooked breakfast there next morning and even managed to do some laundry before packing. The agent was very helpful and the check-in was easy.

The views from the apartment was great. Considering what we paid for the apartment, it was really great value for money. It was a complete surprise to us how nice this is and we will definitely come back.

If there is any draw backs, it has got to be the showers. The shower heads are partially blocked and can do better with a replacement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Jia H

Thanks for a great review and for taking the time to write it.

We have already informed our operations team about the one draw back mentioned.

Thanks

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very comfortable accommodation. After travelling South Africa for a while we were pleased to spend four nights in our own apartment - three bedrooms, three bathrooms (!) lounge, kitchen with all the appliances including washing machine and dryer which I worked non-stop! We stayed in Kylemore and it was lovely. Beautifully designed and spacious plus lovely balcony with view. I thought it would be walking distance to the Waterfront shops and restaurants but it was a bit far and we opted to take the car - especially since the nights were cold. In all a great base for touring Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaelKTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi YaelKTelAviv

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of the Marina Waterfront Apartments.

We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

Happy travels

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Marina, the apartment was well appointed, clean but it could with a spruce up. It was nice to sit on the balcony and just chill out watching the world go by. The price was competitive with the local hotels if you are booking more than one hotel room. You can book through UK travel companies and can get some good deals. The complex is secure and the gate security men helpful especially when you need to contact the letting agent. It is self catering and you can order food from local takeaways. It is only a short walk away from the waterfront were there is a supermarket, bars and restaurants plus a shopping mall were you can find a great selection of shops. From the waterfront you can get the sightseeing buses, taxis, boat charters and helicopter rides. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear lancsprop1
Thanks very much for a truly great review. We appreciate getting your feedback and hope to see you again soon at the Marina. Please keep in touch with us on our Facebook and Twitter pages.

All the best

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

these apartments are really cool for a stay in cape town. there is basically everything a little family needs for a having a great time. there is security parking area underneath with direct access to the flat. the flat has spacy balconies with views on the marina, table mountain, the sea and the city as well. the apartment is fully equipped and provides high standards (washing machine, dish washer etc). we liked the style a lot of both the interior of the apartment as well as the whole compund with little channels and good access to nearby waterfront. a very enjoyable stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Michael

Thank you for taking the time to write such a stunning review of the Marina, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will share your review with the staff at the Marina as further inspiration for the work that they do. We hope to see you again soon, many happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

So we booked very early (April) for the new year eve time, and were informed in November of a double booking, and got kicked out (family of 5). Very annoying given that at that stage it is hard to find any accomodation in Capetown for new year's eve, and second for whatever is left one has to pay much more at this stage. Most annoying then, the hotel held on to the deposit of approx $1000 (withdrawn since April) and wouldn't have noticed or returned unless we would have informed the online agent (booking.com). Very unprofessional booking system and procedures.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi

We apologise if you were aggrieved due the double booking, occasionally there are isolated cases where a double booking pulls through onto our system via one of the channel managers such as Booking.com. We always look at how we can accommodate our guests and if we cannot accommodate them at any of the self-catering hotels we would refund the guests.

However it takes 14 working days for any refunds to be processed and it can take up to 21 working days for international card holders to receive a refund from their bank.

We are glad that you were finally refunded and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation

Property: V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation
Address: 1 Dock Road | 8001, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The V&A Marina Residential is located next to the V&A Waterfront shopping center and Cape Town Harbour. It offers luxurious self-catering apartments on the water's edge, either overlooking the lagoon or the canal waterways. Each apartment has been uniquely styled and furnished and includes a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and a comfortable lounge with a satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V & A Marina Waterfront Accommodation Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing