We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heart of Cape Town Museum

The Heart of Cape Town Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$118.11*
and up
Private Tour: Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the drama of the world’s first human heart transplant performed by Prof. Chris Barnard in 1967 in the fully restored operating theatres where the surgery took place. The fascinating and very emotional stories of the donor, recipient and medical team involved are told on a fully guided, 2 hour tour with the help of life sized silicone models and replicas of important scenes. Certainly an experience not to be missed!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I would highly recommend visiting this museum. The guide Trace was excellent: she gave a lot of background information and at the end of the tour we had a far greater understanding of the surgery, families and challenges. The exhibits are excellent. This museum would be enjoyed by all.- Good explanations make it simple to understand. For those wanting in-depth medical details there are many charts for viewing. Its also a great tribute to the standard of medicine in SA.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    55
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
404 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very Enlightening and Great Appreciation for the Medicine Profession”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Accompanied my daughter on a school trip to this museum. Blown away by the wax models flown in from Madam Tussards. There were very good displays of the first people who were involved in the first heart transplant, incl. the equipment which made the entire scenario look very real. The displays of the hearts were very good as well.
The guide was informative but could have been more hospitable.
This museum was a good ambassador for the medicine profession. This museum should be visited by young and old, local and tourists, the youngsters especially as this could a motivational factor from a career perspective.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a charmer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I wish everyone would take the time to visit this gem of a museum! I had no idea I would find it so enjoyable - in fact this is my third visit and I am no less enchanted. The film footage is particularly instructive!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A moving and memorable experience. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best tours I have been on. Very well explained and some really moving moments. I would say it is a must for any health professionals visiting Cape Town. I will not ruin the surprise but I predict some of the exhibits you see at the end of the two hour stay will remain in your memory for a very long time.

Helpful?
Thank Newtonbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safe walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Love walking in the city centre, there is so much to do and see, take Long street for a good walk and the diverse shops that are there are awesome, Bree street is also an awesome walk with again so much to see

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heart of Cape Town Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Heart of Cape Town Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing