We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beefcakes Burger Bar

Beefcakes Burger Bar
Ranked #214 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Good service and good food. We made the mistake of not booking which was a bad idea, the staff managed to accommodate us however. Sad that we missed the drag show! Also in close proximity to the local gay clubs. It would be advisable to have a decent budget when visiting as the food is rather expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Guesswrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    70
    36
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat at”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Visited on a vacation to Cape Town with friends. We went on a tuesday which was the day that the restaurant has bingo. It was extremely entertaining and a great experience. The staff were friendly and efficient. I was not very impressed with my food. I would not rate it as the best burger I have ever eated because it was quite dry. I would visit again for the entertainment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Dingy during the day, Beefcakes certainly deserves refurbishing. The food, however, does not. Service was good and meals were quick and delicious. You do pay for the quality - the outing was a bit expensive.

Helpful?
Thank sncarletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Odd place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place doesn't seem to know what it is... fast food joint or twinky gay bar or hen-night staple? It seems to have adopted (the worst of) all three and somehow, like Mars, lost its atmosphere. Unless the atmosphere of a drive-thru counts. Trashy. And not in a good way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great restaurant , pretensious waiters and full of hens”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had just recently visited this establishment after being away for work for 6 months and had taken to friends with me from America. I had informed them that the food is excellent (which it really is great food) however the service was really not up to standard and I and the two guests that accompanied me agreed that the waiters are extremely full of themselves and try and push sales into you. Now for me personally I don't have a problem with this I work in the hospitality industry so I understand the importance of up selling but you don't try and up sell by pushing products on your guests it just no proper customer service.

There was also an incident where there was a hen party playing bingo just like we were and everyone was having a great time. Only after to find out that one of the women in the group had majorly insulted the drag queen by grabbing her in inappropriate places and using fould language in name calling , I personally felt that it was completely unacceptable and the fact that management didn't reserve the right and chuck them up to me came across as there was more focus and care given to the money these women were spending then the fact of actually standing up and protecting your employees so it was absolutely disgusting that you as an establishment could actually allow something like that to happen but once again everything is based around money right? Regardless of how other people treat your staff.

The sad part was these ladies had booked there hen party there and knew that a drag would be part of the act and the fact it is a gay restaurant or at least should be.
So yes food great quality and not badly priced , your drinks are over the top expensive but once again you will have tourists we wouldn't care what they spend on food and drinks but you have absolutely no appeal for locals and providing something for them.

They gay establishments in Cale Town are as little as they are already , so try and appeal to them more and may e you could bring yourself even more business. The owners have an extremely good concept going but you need to still learn a few things to be able to make it 100% successful in this industry. 1. Stand up for your employees and treat them with much respect even if it means losing money or guests 2. Take them to a very good restaurants in and around cape town so they can be trained on how to bring their service to par with your good food and while the might be good looking they need to remember they were not carved out by hand and if the management are serious about improvement of their establishment a reply on this would show that

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beefcakes Burger Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Beefcakes Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing