We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Cape Town”
Review of Blakes Bar - CLOSED

Blakes Bar
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best place in Cape Town”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Whilst staying in Cape town, we were lucky enough to go to Blakes twice! It's such a lovely place that caters for everyone's taste - drinks on the top floor overlooking the mountain, wine tasting with an awesome chat to Grant (who knows just about everything about wine!) or a romantic dinner on the bottom floor... I believe it's a new menu they just introduced, and OMW it's just divine! Everything from starters to dessert with after dinner cocktails and wine paring was just perfect. Cannot wait for our next visit to Cape Town...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelFundi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Lovely Meal”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We enjoyed a Sunday evening dinner. It was nice to find a restaurant open on Sunday.
Our main courses were saddle of venison and beef filet--both very good. Beautifully presented.
The panna cotta dessert was divine. The service was wonderful--just the right amount of supervision v.s. giving privacy to enjoy our conversation. Nice assistance with wine selection.
A very attractive restaurant/decor makes it feel special. Courteous, welcoming, friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archbold08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Very Good Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We tried the Opal Lounge some four years ago whilst visiting Cape Town, it was so good we eat there twice. Since we were returning to the Cape we wanted to go back but found that the Opal Lounge is now Blakes Restaurant and has moved.

Firstly, it is a little off the beaten track and we would have preferred if we could have had a cocktail first but was directed to our table. The restaurant is large, funky and has some very comfortable chairs.

Lets start with the bad. This restaurant was empty, apparently a table of 14 didn't turn up and therefore the restaurant had turned away other customers, because there was hardly anybody here the atmosphere was somewhat lacking.

OK lets get on with the positives - this is a lovely restaurant, the food and the service was brilliant. We asked our waiter to recommend different glasses of wine for each of the courses and his choices were fantastic.

We had the pigs cheek for starters and I had the Kudo and my husband had the lamb. The Chef is very good and the food was lovely, we weren't rushed and we enjoyed ourselves. I can absolutely recommend this restaurant as it is the Cape at its best.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sorry, not as good as the Opal Lounge”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We ate at the Opal Lounge a few years ago and it was fantastic - from the pre-dinner drinks (no where has come close to the fizzy lemon appetiser) to the atmos - old colonial style house and introducing us to Diemersfontein Pinotage. Blakes' has amazing decor too - I was seated in a large velvet love chair and the table was very comfortable. The food was decent - the waiting staff very attentive. Chocolate brownie and stout ice cream were amazing. I didn't like the grasshopper so much and was a little disappointed. For a while, we were the only table in (until joined by 2 others). That made the place lack atmosphere a little which is a shame because it is really quite nice. However it was a windy Sunday night in Capetown. We woukd go back and the experience would be excellent if someone could remember how to make that citrus cocktail ... Would be fab for a Special occasion

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not even close”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Some of the group used to go to Opal Lounge so expected something nice.
What a bad experience.
Steak tartare was a spoonful of spicy ketchup with chopped meat. Maincourses were OK but no more than that.
Strange waiter. Hanging over someones plate to reach for another, several times. We were not even finished with dessert when the bill was presented.
Extensive winelist though.
Worst experience until now in Capetown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kleintje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blakes Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing