We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for a 10 days and we felt evry thing was so fresh and trendy.
Staff was so friendly and helpfull with evry thing we need. Room was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jafar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at this very new hotel for three nights after specifically looking for a quieter, smaller but yet luxury location in Cape Town. We weren't disappointed. We also wanted to be close to the V&A, restaurants and waterfront views. The location is perfect, design and decor of the Hotel is both modern and fresh. Colour palette is calming. The while circular staircase in the lobby is spectacular - a stunning option to the elevator. I would recommend booking a superior room for added space and specifially request a waterfront or Table Mountain view. We found the staff and concierge very polite, professional and extremely helpful. My only negative comment would be that the vanity lighting in the washrooms is quite poor but am sure that will be rectified. We only stayed three nights but if staying longer, would perhaps opt for a location with more amenities onsite (pool, spa, gym etc.). We will return. S&K O'Connor, Canada.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_OConnor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for a week and we felt this hotel was exactly what we where looking for: nice location (waterfront) so it´s easy to find places to go shopping or having dinner just crossing the street; rooms are new and really beautiful. Very chic-trendy decoration. Beds are also very good.
Breakfast is not so good as rooms but it´s ok. Service is very helpful. I would definitely recommend it if you´re looking for a luxury modern hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ww18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at hotel for weekend , great location staff are very helpful decor and food unbeatable best hotel in cape town

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Spent only one night in this new hotel but will definitely return. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, had the most fantastic sea bass, this alone would is enough for a return visit.

Patrick (Ireland)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We really liked the website and since we are foodies, we had to test this hotel. And when it comes to food - it doesn't fail! Absolutely amazing.

Everything else is fine: great beds and sleep quality, big bathrooms, all new, but for some reason I find the hotel cold. It could be due to blue/grey colors and lack of guests, also the gym is outside of the hotel, so not so convenient.

Service at the door and first impression is rather unwelcoming as the staff tends to look important and look at the screens more than they smile at guests. There is also too many of them and no guests, which is unfortunate for such an amazing dining place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Although I stayed for only one night this was sufficient to be convinced that the Queen Victoria is going to be a sought-after address in Cape Town.
The rooms are excellently appointed, the state of cleanliness is beyond belief and the staff really go overboard in their service to guests.
This is definitely a hotel for the discerning guest looking for that little bit more but yet at affordable prices.
Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £228 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing