We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here for one night a couple of days after it had opened and would definitely return and recommend this trendy boutique hotel within walking distance of the V & A Waterfront.
Rooms are spacious, beds really comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful but in abundance which was slightly off putting; hopefully there are now more guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    110
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
414
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon in cape town. After a long and tiring wedding period we pined for a relaxing but trendy hotel to stay in. We were taking a risk on a relatively new hotel, but given its rave reviews thus far, coupled with it seeming to match our wishes, we took a punt on the Queen Vic. We were not disappointed!! I can truly and honestly say this gem of a boutique hotel made our honeymoon truly memorable. In my opinion, it does everything perfectly. It has a perfect location, particularly for a tourist new to cape town, being right on the waterfront near to the bars and restaurants. However, it manages to remain obscured from the main hub and maintains some privacy. Its interior is a work in minimalist and understated elegance. From the tasteful artwork to the wonderful white spiral staircase, one felt inmediately surrounded by opulence and luxury. The room was superb, with a simply spectacular view of table mountain. It was bright, spacious and extremely well appointed. The breakfasts were to die for! With a combination of buffet options and hot a la carte classics such as eggs benedict and omelette, it kept us satiated well in to the evenings. The service was always with a smile, and Amy as host was as congenial as one could hope for. Indeed, it was the service we received from the staff in general which left us wishing we had stayed longer, and indeed, what I feel sets this hotel apart from other similarly priced/classed establishments. We could not have met a more friendly, warm, attentive and sincere individuals. Ricardo, Patrick, Maggie and Tamryn on the front desk went well above and beyond the call of duty in assisting us with day trips and tours, recommending restaurants and bars, and generally going out of their way to make our honeymoon as memorable as possible. Indeed, by the end of our stay, we would consider most of the staff we dealt with as friends, such was their genuine care for our wellbeing and enjoyment. Despite this, they managed to remain utterly professional at all times. I honestly cannot say enough superlatives regarding this hotel, it is surely going places. And we, for sure, will be using it when we next visit this enchanting city.
Aashish Tagore

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TagoreBidwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

What a beautiful, small, boutique hotel!! I recently had a two night stay at this new gem. The staff and the welcome were fabulous. The deluxe nature of the decor and the rooms was really a bonus. Beautifully and elegantly fitted out; huge comfortable beds; separate ensuite; and great little bar. We were blown away - particularly by the exotic and delicious cheese platter!! This hotel is perfectly located on the Waterfront, within walking distance of great restaurants, entertainment and shopping, as well as all the jump off points for tourist activities. Tip: great little Thai day spa around the corner!!

Room Tip: Rooms on west side would give a great view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed at this new hotel while on a 3 day visit to Cape Town. Was impressed by the quality of accommodation, food and service. A great base from which to explore CT or for business.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDavid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for a 10 days and we felt evry thing was so fresh and trendy.
Staff was so friendly and helpfull with evry thing we need. Room was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jafar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at this very new hotel for three nights after specifically looking for a quieter, smaller but yet luxury location in Cape Town. We weren't disappointed. We also wanted to be close to the V&A, restaurants and waterfront views. The location is perfect, design and decor of the Hotel is both modern and fresh. Colour palette is calming. The while circular staircase in the lobby is spectacular - a stunning option to the elevator. I would recommend booking a superior room for added space and specifially request a waterfront or Table Mountain view. We found the staff and concierge very polite, professional and extremely helpful. My only negative comment would be that the vanity lighting in the washrooms is quite poor but am sure that will be rectified. We only stayed three nights but if staying longer, would perhaps opt for a location with more amenities onsite (pool, spa, gym etc.). We will return. S&K O'Connor, Canada.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_OConnor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed for a week and we felt this hotel was exactly what we where looking for: nice location (waterfront) so it´s easy to find places to go shopping or having dinner just crossing the street; rooms are new and really beautiful. Very chic-trendy decoration. Beds are also very good.
Breakfast is not so good as rooms but it´s ok. Service is very helpful. I would definitely recommend it if you´re looking for a luxury modern hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ww18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing