We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I just completed a seven night stay at the Queen Victoria. It was such a wonderful hotel experience, I really did not want to leave. I travelled to Cape Town from New York to visit my daughter, who also stayed with me at the hotel. Everyone at the Queen Victoria, including the hotel manager, the front desk staff, the restaurant staff, and the housekeepers, made us both feel at home, bending over backwards to make sure our visit was perfect.

Upon arrival, the manager gratuitously upgraded our room to a bright and beautiful corner room. The bathroom was large, modern and immaculate, with a separate oversized shower, tub, double sink and separate room for the commode. The bedroom linens and pillows were so comfortable (prior to arrival, the concierge emailed me a preference form to ask what type of pillows I liked and to see if they could stock our room with additional amenities, such as extra hangers or fresh fruit, for example). The room also included bathrobes and slippers, a couch and seating area. Each evening, the housekeeping staff provided turn-down service.

The front desk staff was happy to arrange (and occasionally rearrange) our dinner reservations each night, advance us cash on account so we did not have to go to foreign ATM machines, arrange for taxis, provide free internet and use of their computer printer. On one occasion when the hotel internet was not working efficiently, they even let my daughter work on one of their own hard-wired hotel staff computers.

Next door to the Queen Victoria, guests have access to an intimate pool setting at the sister-hotel, The Dock House. In addition, hotel guests also have access to the next door spa, which includes gym facilities.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, but our room rate included a wonderful breakfast each morning. We were able to choose from a cold buffet (fresh fruit, cheese, meats, cereals, yogurts) or a hot meal from the breakfast menu. The wait staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel also has an inviting bar where guests congregate in the afternoon and evening. The bartender was also so friendly.

All in all, this 35 room boutique hotel really caters to its guests. Its decor is sleek and modern, yet the feel is intimate, warm and inviting. Special thanks to Bobby, Tamryn, Ricardo and the lovely morning hostess from the restaurant (I am sorry, but I do not remember your name) I will definitely return to the Queen Victoria Hotel the next time I travel to Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the second floor. Back corner room is bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-TravellerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    114
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
439
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My partner and I stayed 3nights and 2 days, it was honestly the worst experience ever. The room we stayed in was 1205 on the 16/03/2012 was infested wit mites and as result we contracted several bites wounds on our bodies. The staff and management provided poor service and support. They offerred no reassurance or apathy for the situation merely transferring us to another room (1209). Not to mention the undue anxiety that we felt. We complained several times to staff and management only to receive a call 3days after our initial complaint. This is an embarrassment as Cape town is an international tourist destination. What was suppose to be a relaxing weekend turned out to be a nightmare.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ilene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Queen Victoria. When writing this review, I'm actually still on the hotel sitting in the dock house near by the hotel, which is great place to chill out and enjoy the sun. The rooms are great and the service is amazing. The restaurant staff is really professionel and the food is without a doubt the best we had on our trip. Try the salmon as starters and beef fillet as main course - you won't be disappointed! Would stay here again when coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Travelled to Cape Town for the first time on business and although my schedule was very busy and left little room for relax I had the best time staying at the Queen Victoria, the location is perfect, central yet quiet, with all the amenties you can wish for around the corner or at the hotel, such as great cuisine at the restaurants, the spa and the concierge services. Rooms are immaculately clean, great design, the staff is lovely yet professional, a special thanks to Ricardo in reception for helping us with our requests and always having a smile. I would definetely return and would be nice to try the Dock House, the hotel hotel of the group. Would also love to take advantage of the relaxing pool area, this time i just did not get a chance. Loved breakfast , such quality fresh products madeit the highlight of my busy day! Thanks ot everyoen at the Queen Victoria to make me feel at home, a bit on holiday and relax although I was on business, Claudia (Liverpool UK)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the QV hotel for a week in mid Feb. We loved it here!

Our room (we were lucky enough to be given an upgrade) was extremely well appointed & had a fabulous view of Table Mountain. The staff were v friendly and super efficient. Breakfast was delicious and we took advantage of the facilities at the other Newmark hotels. In particular the gym & spa at the Dock House next door & the pool at the Ambassador hotel a 10 min cab ride away (c. ZAR 60) in Bantry Bay.

QV is also perfectly located & an excellent base for tours. Brilliant to be right by the V&A waterfront with so many great restaurants (Willoughby's is a must!) & shops.

Can't recommend the QV enough & will definitely return if we're ever back in CT. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

we had never been to Cape Town and picked the hotel mainly because it was available. We struck gold, the room was fantastic witha view of the V&A waterfront. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is a delightful retreat and you are 5 mins from the waterfront and all the restaurants.We can't wait to return and will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Queen Victoria Hotel. The location was great for exploring the waterfront area, and our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. This boutique hotel is a great choice for people who want to avoid the sometimes impersonal experience of larger hotels. The staff was friendly and professional, and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring our comfort in the hotel - and enjoyment of our time in Cape Town.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask for a description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing