We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful everything”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a pleasure to have stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful and ideally located hotel in April 2012. It offers excellent service from the doorman (Sign), reception desk staff (Bernhardt and Ricardo) to the bar stewards and table waiters (Daniella). Evryone was so helpful and engaging we felt like we were speaking with old friends. They did whatever they could to assist us to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons from making a room available for us at 10.00AM and providing a late check out. Thanks guys! The hotel rooms are generously sized, modern and very comfortable. The location about 50m directly across the road and on a small hill from the V & A Waterfront provides the ideal setting close to shops, the hop on hop off bus, the aquarium amnd markets and other attractions at the V & A precinct but without the hustle and bustle of being right in amongst it. Breakfast each morning was a superb continental buffet affair or in-house menu for those who prefer something special. If the breakfasts are anything to go by the lunch and dinner menus would be something to get excited about. Location and service made it special for us and would definitely stay there again.
Peter & Jan Perth

Room Tip: All rooms appear to offer similar decor, size and quality fittings. Some rooms offer views toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janpet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    115
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
440
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We arrived from the UK at about 9am, following an overnight flight, and were disorientated to say the least. The hotel had told us that they would try and let us have our room early if possible, and luckily our room was immediately available.
We were on the ground floor, and the room had a small patio, with seating in the sun, which was very nice. Unfortunately, I found that the right patio door did not quite secure at the top, and being on the ground floor, I was rather nervous. This was our first trip to SA, and you never know which stories in the media to believe ! We spoke to the reception staff, and although there was nothing else immediately available, they said they would see what they could do.
Without fuss, after lunch we were transferred to a first floor room, which was equally as nice. We stayed for 3 nights, which flew by very quickly.
When we had been researching where to stay, we knew we wanted to stayed at the waterfront, but obviously there are several hotels to chose from. The huge advantage of Queen Victoria, which we didnt fully grasp until we arrived, is that its set on a ridge just above the waterfront area. That means that you are just 2 minutes away from the waterfront, but dont get the tourists wandering around your hotel, and the noise that brings. The location was absolutely ideal for us. Its also worth noting that you cant really walk into the city from the waterfront area. Although its not far, the busy roads (motorway size) make it prohibitive.
The hotel reception staff are excellent, and the service was outstanding. We were able to purchase tickets for the bus and for table mountain in the hotel. This was really helpful, as when we got to table mountain, there was a long queue to buy tickets and then another long queue for the cable car.
We had also arranged in advance with the hotel for our hire car to be delivered on the third day of our stay. After a long flight, the last thing we wanted to be doing was navigating the roads, so having the car later worked perfectly.
Our room had everything we needed, and although we only looked out to the front of the hotel, it was bright and quiet. From the bar at the rear of the hotel, you can sit and look towards table mountain. Thank you to Rodney for looking after us so well !
We didnt use the pool or spa facilities, as we just ran out of time.
This was a fantastic start to a wonderful holiday, and we are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were staying at the Dock House - a sister hotel across a courtyard. Although breakfast was available there, nosiness led us to try breakfast at the Queen Victoria. Well it was great! We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet and the cooked dishes. The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly. Having seen how good the breakfasts were, we began to have dinner there : quite a fine dining experience that was too. In the face of the strong competition presented by the large number of restaurants just across the road at the V&A waterfront, it seems that the Victoria struggles to attract diners or to tempt residents to foreswear the noisy attractions across the road. This is a great pity as the dinners at the Vic are truly excellent. There are talented chefs there. Maybe this is a marketing issue for the managent to consider? Wherever you are staying- try eating at the Queen Victoria- you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nippysweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Queen Victoria is located on a small hill right across the street from the busy waterfront. The best of both worlds - good location and super quiet hotel. The hotel itself lives up to its 5 star category. The staff has to be the best in the city. We felt like guests in a home rather than a hotel. The food was superb starting with the elaborate breakfast buffet before a cooked breakfast of choice. The guest rooms are comfortable and luxurious. The turndown service included a mini dessert. No chocolate mint on the pillow for the Queen Victoria! One of our best hotel expereinces ever!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio or balcony. Have your morning coffee outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanktongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The queen victoria was not only intimate, immaculate, and beautifully decorated, the staff and food was fantastic. We would highly recommend this very special hotel to even the most discriminating traveller.

Room Tip: a balcony was a delightful perk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I booked a mountain-facing room at the V&A Hotel for seven nights. Upon my arrival, I was informed that I had been “upgraded” to their five-star property, the Queen Victoria. I am astonished that anyone would call the Queen Victoria a five-star, since it has none of the amenities usually associated with this designation.

In the hotel’s favor, it should be acknowledged that the location is excellent and that the room offered a lovely view of the Waterfront area and Table Mountain. Unfortunately, that’s not enough for a frequent business traveler. The hotel’s shortcomings far outnumber its virtues.

The hotel has no fitness center on site. They do, however, have an agreement with a nearby hotel which allows Queen Victoria guests to use this other hotel’s fitness center. This is an inconvenience, made all the more inconvenient by the fact that the guest’s room key will not provide access to this fitness center – one must be accompanied by one of the Queen Victoria staff members.

There is also no business center on site, but the hotel has an agreement with a nearby hotel. Again, a significant inconvenience.

The breakfast at the Queen Victoria was disappointing, particularly in light of the fact that colleagues had recommended the outstanding breakfast buffet at the V&A. I ordered a tomato, ham, and cheese omelet, but the chef forgot to include the cheese. He sent the omelet out accompanied by a bowl of cold shredded cheese on the side.

Most importantly, the hotel is poorly maintained. On my first morning, none of the lights in my room were working except the light in the closet. I called the front desk for assistance, but they were unable to resolve the problem. I had to dress for work by the dim light emanating from the closet.

Although I was scheduled to stay for seven nights, I fled this hotel after only one night.

I do not appreciate the V&A’s efforts to move customers to this inferior property, especially under the guise of an upgrade. I will not return to either the V&A or the Queen Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DivaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I just completed a seven night stay at the Queen Victoria. It was such a wonderful hotel experience, I really did not want to leave. I travelled to Cape Town from New York to visit my daughter, who also stayed with me at the hotel. Everyone at the Queen Victoria, including the hotel manager, the front desk staff, the restaurant staff, and the housekeepers, made us both feel at home, bending over backwards to make sure our visit was perfect.

Upon arrival, the manager gratuitously upgraded our room to a bright and beautiful corner room. The bathroom was large, modern and immaculate, with a separate oversized shower, tub, double sink and separate room for the commode. The bedroom linens and pillows were so comfortable (prior to arrival, the concierge emailed me a preference form to ask what type of pillows I liked and to see if they could stock our room with additional amenities, such as extra hangers or fresh fruit, for example). The room also included bathrobes and slippers, a couch and seating area. Each evening, the housekeeping staff provided turn-down service.

The front desk staff was happy to arrange (and occasionally rearrange) our dinner reservations each night, advance us cash on account so we did not have to go to foreign ATM machines, arrange for taxis, provide free internet and use of their computer printer. On one occasion when the hotel internet was not working efficiently, they even let my daughter work on one of their own hard-wired hotel staff computers.

Next door to the Queen Victoria, guests have access to an intimate pool setting at the sister-hotel, The Dock House. In addition, hotel guests also have access to the next door spa, which includes gym facilities.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, but our room rate included a wonderful breakfast each morning. We were able to choose from a cold buffet (fresh fruit, cheese, meats, cereals, yogurts) or a hot meal from the breakfast menu. The wait staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel also has an inviting bar where guests congregate in the afternoon and evening. The bartender was also so friendly.

All in all, this 35 room boutique hotel really caters to its guests. Its decor is sleek and modern, yet the feel is intimate, warm and inviting. Special thanks to Bobby, Tamryn, Ricardo and the lovely morning hostess from the restaurant (I am sorry, but I do not remember your name) I will definitely return to the Queen Victoria Hotel the next time I travel to Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the second floor. Back corner room is bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-TravellerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing