We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect for Us”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel was perfect for us. It's close to the Waterfront (a two minute walk), but far enough away that you don't get the noise. The rooms were luxurious--nice spacious bathrooms, a chandelier over the bed, and a wrap-around balcony with views of Table Mountain. There is a nice lounge area with a fireplace that we enjoyed at the end of the evening, and there's a complimentary made-to-order breakfast in the morning. I thought the service was great. The manager, Bobby Pringle, took care of every request I had and was very friendly. Also, one evening we wanted wine in the lounge, but it appeared to be closed. Instead of just saying, "Oh, it's closed"--which MANY hotels do--the front desk employee opened it for us, turned on the fireplace, and gave us excellent service. If we were to return to Cape Town, I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    114
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
434
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a newly refurbished hotel in a building stretching back to Victorian times. It is located on a ridge overlooking the waterfront district and great views of table mountain. My cabbie took me to the Victoria & Alfred Hotel first so make sure you make the name clear.
The rooms are very well apointed with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom.
It is within easy walking of the waterfront district which is a busy tourist area. I had a DSV in the dry dock to survey so was on my own, but it would be highly recommended as a location for couples.
There are loads of eating places in walking distance along with craft shops; a supermarket, and speciality shops.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view and then get up early and watch the sun slowly light up table mountain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDTC707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in the Queen Vic from the 14-17 April 2012 at the start of our honeymoon. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way, and when we opened the door to our 'room', we were amazed beyond words by the luxury of it all. The bathroom was huge, with his and hers basins, a large walk in shower and separate loo. The bedroom was massive, with a seating area, super king bed and chandelier!! We stayed in room 1213 and had a great view of Table Mountain (when it wasn't raining). The breakfasts were yummy! Buffet starter and then full hot breakfast to order. We were also given the option to have breakfast in the Dockhouse which we did on our last morning, and enjoyed a plated service at the pool. The location was perfect for our days out at the Waterfront. We were also given a complementary bottle of Champagne. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

Room Tip: 1213 is a corner suite with views of table mountain (and the car park), but it was huge, and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2xsjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel and loved it. Everything from the stunning decor to the really nice breakfast buffet pleased us. We had a nice room with excellent views in two directions, comfortable beds, slippers, gowns and plenty of toiletries. The service all round was good and we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was a lovely hotel with contemporary decorations, and a great location right near the harbor. It gets confused with a sister hotel, so try to be clear with the Cab drivers. The breakfast was excellent, both buffet and ordering and the view from it was also lovely of table top mountain.

This is not a full service hotel, so don't try to get them to do a 'picnic' lunch or anything like that, but they are very gracious and helpful about getting you into town safely and where the ATMs are etc. They do have access to a gym//spa in a sister hotel, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlgrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Superb hotel, a very warm welcoming and very trendy lobby. I liked it very much. Unfortunately, I was only spending two nights at the Queen Victoria. Breakfast was outstanding, the service was very professional and the room was very clean. Just a very small issue, their WiFi does not work everywhere in the hotel (well, that was what I experienced). For sure, I would stay again while visiting CapeTown.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS-LUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Excellent hotel, superb service, excellent quality professional staff, security is great, awesome breakfast and the view of the Table Mountain! I just wish that they had a more convenient spa services. .. I was not able to get in... Would stay again regardless!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing