We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Boutique at its Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed four nights at this fabulous hotel...warm, personable service with a great location! The V&A Waterfront is very close with good shopping and numerous dining options. The food at the hotel is excellent..breakfast is included and is one of the best we have had. Everything is so fresh and service is impeccable. Dinner was superb...presentation great and so surprised that more people don't frequent this hotel as the food is better than any of the restaurants at the Waterfront that we had eaten at during our stay. The rooms are large and very comfortable....big bathroom with shower and bath with wonderful Charlotte Rhys toiletries. If you like this product there is a CR shop in the V&A Shopping Centre! We would definitely recommend this small, boutique hotel if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Queen Victoria was home for about a week while my husband and I stayed in Cape Town. Its location couldn't be better; steps from the waterfront for shopping, dining and great views. The food at the hotel is exceptional; especially the buffet breakfast included in the rate. I took perhaps one of the most beautiful photos of my breakfast one morning -- smoked fish and tomatoes with pea tendrils. You can order off the menu -- including cappuccinos and the like -- or eat from the central buffet table which offers breads, cheeses, smoked salmon, yogurt parfaits and a boozey juice bar. It's heavenly way to start your day in a beautiful place. The size of the hotel is perfect. Around 35 rooms. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. And it's beautiful inside. Go stay there when you travel to Cape Town. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel soon after it opened and were dazzled by the chic decor and attention to detail. We loved the elegant silver, gray and violet decor and contemporary art and furnishing so much that we had our friends (staying at the nearby Commodore) up for drinks in our room. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Service was knowledgeable, capable and eager although not warm -- which actually fit the cool design as well.
Location-- excellent for waterfront, a bit out of the fray but short walk, but next trip I'd stay in the city or suburbs v the more tourist/commerce oriented waterfront.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Styleandcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our Travel agent recommended this to us (we had suggested The Commodore which is next door and far bigger) so we were so pleased with his choice. This is a fantastic "boutique" hotel with everything going for it. We arrived to find we had been upgraded which in itself was a lovely surprise as quite often in the UK Travel Agent bookings seem to get the worst rooms. We had a corner room with views of Table Mountain. The room was enormous with 2 lovely armchairs and a sofa to watch the large flat screen TV from. Turn down service was a nice touch with little sweet meats. A couple of small problems with the room (light bulb not working and water leak) - both we fixed on the day we reported them - which was a Sunday too! Breakfast is good with great choice of cold and freshly cooked hot - so nice not to have one of those hot buffets with congealing food. In the evening the bar was welcoming and the waiter remembered us and what we had been drinking the night before. I cannot think of anything wrong with the hotel - except that its location up some stairs from the Waterfront would not suit anyone with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask for a Table Mountain View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank maggie9898210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

we stayed in early July 2012, family of four. Absolutely perfect location wise, but not moneys worth. Rooms are spacious. very limited room service if you are arriving late for a lunch after a flight as chefs leave after breakfast.. No lunch served. also lost our laundry, and actually said they will mail it back! no reimbursement yet or no clothes back. Not sure how to resolve issues for a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakshmi703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel was perfect for us. It's close to the Waterfront (a two minute walk), but far enough away that you don't get the noise. The rooms were luxurious--nice spacious bathrooms, a chandelier over the bed, and a wrap-around balcony with views of Table Mountain. There is a nice lounge area with a fireplace that we enjoyed at the end of the evening, and there's a complimentary made-to-order breakfast in the morning. I thought the service was great. The manager, Bobby Pringle, took care of every request I had and was very friendly. Also, one evening we wanted wine in the lounge, but it appeared to be closed. Instead of just saying, "Oh, it's closed"--which MANY hotels do--the front desk employee opened it for us, turned on the fireplace, and gave us excellent service. If we were to return to Cape Town, I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a newly refurbished hotel in a building stretching back to Victorian times. It is located on a ridge overlooking the waterfront district and great views of table mountain. My cabbie took me to the Victoria & Alfred Hotel first so make sure you make the name clear.
The rooms are very well apointed with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom.
It is within easy walking of the waterfront district which is a busy tourist area. I had a DSV in the dry dock to survey so was on my own, but it would be highly recommended as a location for couples.
There are loads of eating places in walking distance along with craft shops; a supermarket, and speciality shops.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view and then get up early and watch the sun slowly light up table mountain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDTC707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £299 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing