We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at V&A Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just returned from our South African journey and we miss our trip already! We stayed at the Queen Victoria for 3 nights earlier this month and it was a really good experience. We had a Deluxe room on the 2nd floor and it was an ideal size - large but also cozy - with very tasteful decor. The bathrooms were, again, spacious and well appointed but not overwhelming. We can only imagine how nice the more expensive rooms are!

As many others have mentioned already, the location near but not on the V&A Waterfront was ideal. It was convenient yet just slightly distanced enough for it to feel relaxing and quiet. We rented a car for the last 2 days so it was wonderful to have free parking just around the corner from the main entrance of the hotel. Breakfasts were delicious and copious and the restaurant is beautifully decorated in the same style as the rest of the hotel. Another bonus is that you are allowed to take your breakfast at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well should you wish. We did that the morning we went to Robben Island because the dock is right near the V&A Hotel - it was both convenient and a nice change of scenery.

If I had to find a negative, then I would say that the doormen could be a bit more polished at times. They were always a bit standoffish whenever you approach the hotel. Also, since it rained every day, we had to grab one of the hotel umbrellas each time we were heading out and each time the doorman would brusquely demand our room number. It's really not a big deal but it wasn't pleasant and it wasn't necessary either since no one ever asks your room number when you return the umbrellas later on if their purpose was to keep tabs! The front desk staff was helpful and beyond reproach though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This new hotel in the former old dockyard office area has been developed to a high standard.
Literally 3 mins walk from the busy waterfront area so you're really in the hub of everything food and bars incl nightlife wise. Very safe and secure if you're feeling a tad nervous when you first arrive (we weren't - but some of the travel guides big up this aspect unfairly!)

Staff were really top drawer and very helpful - my luggage was missing on the inbound flight but staff helped with basic shaving stuff (all Moulton Brown) etc.

Rooms were excellently appointed and the breakfast was a real treat to wake up to!

The city tour buses departed close by - perfect location and to be so quiet and relaxing too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Waterfront view or Table mountain view (upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for a week in one of the suites. A fabulously lux hotel with one of the best restaurants in Cape town and a stunning view from our balcony of Table mountain on the one side and the V&A waterfront on the other side. The location of the hotel is perfect, since all the main Cape attractions are nearby and it is well located even for a drive to some of the most well known wine estates in Stellenbosch, Franshoek, as well as Malmsbury. A visit to the West coast national park in August is an absolute treat, A real gem and great for breakfast and a lunch treat, is Cafe Mozart in Church street, just around the corner from Green Market square and the tranquil and beautiful St Georges Cathedral.The peninsula drive, starting in district six with its colourful suburbs going round to Hout bay, Camps bay, Clifton, Bantry bay, Three Anchor bay and round to Blouberg strand is an outing for a day, but well worth the effort. We enjoyed every minute!

Room Tip: Try to secure a room with a view of Table mountain and the V&A waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

after a family safari, we closed out our trip in Cape Town and stayed here for three nights. Really great hotel in all respects. Staff spectacular, from check in staff, to doormen, to restaurant, really perfect service. Rooms (2, adjacent) were spacious, clean, well appointed. View off the deck of table mountain (uploaded) lovely. breakfasts wonderful! location: perfect. really no negatives and only positives!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

stayed in August 2012 and could not fault the hotel , the rooms were lovely everyone different , and the breakfast was fabulous , the staff very friendly and extremely helpful would definately stay there there again last time in Cape Town we stayed in the' one and only ' at twice the price but never again the queen victoria is so much better !!

Room Tip: all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetraveller53_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had a wonderful meal in the Dash Restaurant after a week of many flights and meetings throughout South Africa. This was a haven of exceptional food, service and attention to detail. We will be back again hopefully in the "summer" season but truthfully it wouldn't matter when we next visit Cape Town - the Queen Victoria and Dash Restaurant will be a certainty for our team!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tourtalk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Basically, you are across the street from the entrance to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront at a fraction of the price of the hotels not many steps away!

The breakfast is superb and so is the service--the hotel look is modern, clean and the rooms are spacious and very nicely laid out.

We had an enormous tub and tow sink--separate huge shower with the latest body sprays and personal hand showers, as well as the large overhead faucet ---The enclosure is glass and marble with a marble seat.

Also great--it's off a little courtyard with its sister hotel "The Dockside" where you can use it's internet free of charge and has a beautiful grassy courtyard with a pool and lounges also at your disposal. The view from the Queen Victoria is Table Mountain!
The fact that it is across the street form all the noise and action is actually a plus--a bit of respite after all the fun and action.

It's a very smart choice...

Room Tip: As k for an upgrade if it's possible--try to get a room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £210 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing