We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Next time I will remember to book directly with the hotel...unfortunately, going through third party websites was not very helpful. Overall, thoroughly loved my stay. Staff was very friendly and the atmosphere and decor was breathtaking. Would return whenever I can!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Jessica

Thank you very much for the complimentary remarks, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with perfect location..all the staff inclunding the doormen is very helpfull and polite.
Good breakfast but better to take it down at sister hotel VA a few steps away.
The Q V also Hotel have a very high quality gourmet resturant.
A few minor tings can improve as a complymentary shoe shine set in the rooms and please change the wall-to-wall caperts in the guestrooms..they give a dirty feeling to an otherwise very nice room.
Good size bathrooms.
We asked for a room with a Tabel mounten view a month prior to check in and were told these were full when we checked in but that we could be moved to one after a few days..have stayed 11 days and heard no more about this change.
If it is not possibel it is better to say so asap.
I can recomend you to stay in this hotel, it is a nice place.
Thomas Friman
Norway

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Thomas

Thank you very much for the lovely review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel as well as the constructive feedback. This allows me to monitor our service levels to you, our guest. We do hope to welcome you back to QV on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for one night at the begining of a business trip. The hotel was very welcoming and found rooms fo my colleagues and I even though we checked in early.
The room was very large and well equipped. The staff were polite and helpful.
The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront and so nicely located for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Beverley

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient and that the staff were friendly and accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had booked to stay at the V&A hotel, but were given a free upgrade to the Queen Victoria hotel. It was a beautiful hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpful (they picked up some of our luggage that had got lost in J'burg). The room was large and had fast wifi. The bathroom was palatial - with a impressive bath, double sinks, double headed shower and separate toilet. The treats on the pillows at night were impressive so we tried out the hotel restaurant for dinner and we were not disappointed (which is saying something given the number of excellent restaurants seconds away in the waterfront). The duck risotto - was the best risotto I have ever had and the cheese platter would be enough for three people, but the chocolate fondant was out of this world!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajdeprez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for the complimentary remarks regarding our staff, services and facilities at the Queen Victoria Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Amazing experience. First- location, location, location. Conveniently located across the street from the Waterfront. Plenty to do and eat across the way and it feels very safe to go back and forth. Second- top notch friendly service. Third- Lovely accommodations. The bathroom has fantastic products (Charlotte Rhys shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, foam bath, bath salts, lotion, etc). In room hair dryer. TOWEL WARMER. Nightly turn down service with delicious pastries (macarons tonight). Perfect after a long day of sightseeing. Finally, the breakfast is out of this world. Hot and cold breakfast is included in your room rate. The blueberry muffin and fresh butter on the table is amazing. I want to eat this every day!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganruth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good day

Thanks for the stunning review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. It makes me very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location, facilities and restaurant to be top-notch!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After having trouble with our A/C and shower at the V&A Hotel, the management kindly moved us to their sister hotel, the Queen Victoria. The Queen Vic was definitely a step up (figuratively and literally) from the V&A. Extremely comfortable and well-designed, with beautiful views of Table Mountain. Excellent breakfasts.

Spa is also excellent and staff is extremely friendly and accommodating (they insisted on staying open late for our appointment because our tour was getting back later than expected).

One thing to note: You have to walk up/down steps or ramps and cross the street to get to the waterfront, so for someone with impaired mobility who wants easy access to the waterfront, a hotel right on the water would be advisable.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor, which was still very quiet and had a view of Table Mountain. The best exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4aForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good day

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your kind words regarding our staff and facilities are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This boutique hotel had everything: Comfortable, spacious rooms; fantastic breakfast; excellent, safe location; friendly staff, etc. Recommended!

My wife and I had a great visit in Cape Town. We had an excellent stay at the Queen Victoria and would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good day

Thanks you for the stunning review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the facilities and services that the hotel has to offer and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town
2,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £235 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing