We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Small boutique hotel in an excellent location with lots of art and comfortable rooms in a beautiful design. The rooms to the side showing to the inner courtyard are nicer with more light and more quiet. Breakfast was good with everything. Dinner one day excellent, the other day nothing special. All in all we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank al208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review on the Queen Victoria Hotel as this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed for one week and I have to say that the staff at the front desk were the best I have encountered in my travels - they were welcoming, warm, accomodating to my many requests for information inside the hotel and out-and-about Cape Town. As a woman traveling alone and a first time visitor to South Africa, I really appreciated there attention to all the details to make my stay enjoyable.
The Restaurant and hotel staff were friendly, polite, obviously well trained in the hospitality business. Large, beautiful breakfast buffet.
Beautiful room, lovely soaking tub and appreciated the chandelier over the bed and high ceilings. Love the ambience of the bar/restaurant with the lovely fireplace - great location, quiet (only 35 rooms) - I wasn't ready to check out! Highly recommend. Triple AAA+

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank artgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for the stunning review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff as well as the facilities and services could contribute to you having a great stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel when next you visit Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Next time I will remember to book directly with the hotel...unfortunately, going through third party websites was not very helpful. Overall, thoroughly loved my stay. Staff was very friendly and the atmosphere and decor was breathtaking. Would return whenever I can!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Jessica

Thank you very much for the complimentary remarks, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with perfect location..all the staff inclunding the doormen is very helpfull and polite.
Good breakfast but better to take it down at sister hotel VA a few steps away.
The Q V also Hotel have a very high quality gourmet resturant.
A few minor tings can improve as a complymentary shoe shine set in the rooms and please change the wall-to-wall caperts in the guestrooms..they give a dirty feeling to an otherwise very nice room.
Good size bathrooms.
We asked for a room with a Tabel mounten view a month prior to check in and were told these were full when we checked in but that we could be moved to one after a few days..have stayed 11 days and heard no more about this change.
If it is not possibel it is better to say so asap.
I can recomend you to stay in this hotel, it is a nice place.
Thomas Friman
Norway

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Thomas

Thank you very much for the lovely review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel as well as the constructive feedback. This allows me to monitor our service levels to you, our guest. We do hope to welcome you back to QV on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for one night at the begining of a business trip. The hotel was very welcoming and found rooms fo my colleagues and I even though we checked in early.
The room was very large and well equipped. The staff were polite and helpful.
The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront and so nicely located for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Beverley

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient and that the staff were friendly and accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had booked to stay at the V&A hotel, but were given a free upgrade to the Queen Victoria hotel. It was a beautiful hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpful (they picked up some of our luggage that had got lost in J'burg). The room was large and had fast wifi. The bathroom was palatial - with a impressive bath, double sinks, double headed shower and separate toilet. The treats on the pillows at night were impressive so we tried out the hotel restaurant for dinner and we were not disappointed (which is saying something given the number of excellent restaurants seconds away in the waterfront). The duck risotto - was the best risotto I have ever had and the cheese platter would be enough for three people, but the chocolate fondant was out of this world!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajdeprez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for the complimentary remarks regarding our staff, services and facilities at the Queen Victoria Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Amazing experience. First- location, location, location. Conveniently located across the street from the Waterfront. Plenty to do and eat across the way and it feels very safe to go back and forth. Second- top notch friendly service. Third- Lovely accommodations. The bathroom has fantastic products (Charlotte Rhys shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, foam bath, bath salts, lotion, etc). In room hair dryer. TOWEL WARMER. Nightly turn down service with delicious pastries (macarons tonight). Perfect after a long day of sightseeing. Finally, the breakfast is out of this world. Hot and cold breakfast is included in your room rate. The blueberry muffin and fresh butter on the table is amazing. I want to eat this every day!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganruth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good day

Thanks for the stunning review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. It makes me very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location, facilities and restaurant to be top-notch!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £299 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing