We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay , fabulous rooms, outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful stay , fabulous rooms, outstanding service”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

amazing stay at the Queen Victoria. could not have asked for more from staff. from booking to departure, excellent service all round. friendly and prompt room service. great quality food. left our Kindle and phone charger there. the Manager contacted us, and said he would keep it for us. Don't hesitate. beautiful place in Cape Town. 5 minute walk into the Waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gavin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Gavin

I'm so happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your complementary remarks regarding the staff and service are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    113
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
432
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Beautiful Hotel, great design of common areas and rooms.
Excellent location away from the bustle but still in the action.
Close to everything in the Cape Town area.
Great breakfast, also available at the sister hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NYGH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good day

Thanks for the stunning review on your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spent a week at the Queen Victoria and totally enjoyed the peace and quiet of the QV while still in walking distance of the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, although the bathroom could use some additional lighting. The bar and restaurant area are comfortable, and Dickson is a terrific bartender. Breakfast was terrific, with ample choices all well prepared. Restaurant service was cheerful, prompt and every need met. In the evening, Dash serves excellent 5 star dinners with food and presentation worthy of a Michelin star. It was also nice to have the ability to use the restaurant at the V&A.The front desk staff was efficient, especially manager Bobby Pringle and Nicole. Thanks also to Oliver who greeted us every day with a warm and welcoming smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hickory444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on the Queen Victoria Hotel and Dash Restaurant. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and that you also managed to make use of OYO Restaurant at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
711 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We researched and researched before deciding to stay at the QV. We make an excellent choice as it is simply marvelous from check in to check out, Bobby registered us and set the standard for the impeccable service we experienced at the QV. We had spa treatments, lunch poolside and the location could not be better as it is positioned at the waterfront entrance, down the steps and across the road you are at the waterfront with all the shops, restaurants, entertainment, etc. A bonus prize is that one of the TOP restaurants in Cape Town, Dash, per Trip Advisor (#5) and the reviews are spot on is located at the QV. I believe "Amy" helped us in the restaurant, she was delightful. The breakfast is excellent quality as is the room service and turndown service with a delicious dessert each evening. The rooms are clean, spacious, light, comfortable seating, sumptuous bedding along with all the amenities one might require. We planned on doing a bit more around the city proper while staying at the QV but found the hotel so luxurious and all inclusive that we stayed in several days to just relax and refresh after our 2 week South Africian holiday...we were truly refreshed and impressed with the QV....sincere great gratitude to you all for making our stay so marvelous!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review. Your complementary remarks regarding our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our last stop on our honeymoon... three nights in this ideally located hotel on the V&A Waterfront. We didn't like the first room we were allocated but the helpful front of house gentleman found us another one with a balcony and wonderful views of Cable Mountain. The room was luxurious and very clean. Same gentleman said as we were on our honeymoon he would arrange something special for us during our stay.. unfortunately, this never came to pass. We felt after initial check in we were a bit neglected. The low point of the hotel is the service at breakfast... every day there were no plates, no glasses and the service was slow to non-existent. To wait 40 minutes for a cooked breakfast when it wasn't even that busy was a bit much. To wait 15 minutes for two lattes is also not great. The hotel is well located and the staff are generally pleasant, but service was a little lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony/view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doris1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Good day

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing to spend some of it at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your feedback allows us to monitor our service levels to guests, so thank you for pointing out the places where you feel we are lacking, this will certainly be addressed. I'm glad you enjoyed the overall experience and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in an amazing Junior Suite. Best hotel we have ever stayed at! Large room, great bed, very clean, beautiful design, free access to pool area at the Dock next door. Fantastic breakfast at V&A! 10 STARS!!!
Anders & Christine, Sweden

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Anders & Christine

Your kind words regarding our hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Hotel is great, localized above the V&A Waterfront.
The rooms are great and the hotel itself very modern and elegant.
The Dash restaurant has good food, but the service is poor, untrained and not sure about the english language.
The menue didn't change for more than a year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Markus

Thank you very much for the lovely review on your stay with us in January. We hope to welcome you back again next year!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing