We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Don't think twice about booking this wonderful hotel, perfectly situated on the waterfront in Capetown. This was our first visit to this wonderful part of Africa and the Queen Victoria Hotel provided a calm, elegant and tranquil oasis from the bustle of the many tourist attractions nearby. The decor was fabulous and the staff where charming. Breakfast selection which is included in the price was vast and varied and more than enough to set you up for the day. Loved every moment of the short time that we spent there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GaynorB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Good day GaynorB B,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to our beautiful part of Africa and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    110
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
413
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

First of all the staff, they were great! Always helpful, professional and smiling, I cannot say enough about how great the staff was, Admire the breakfast captian was a pleasure. Our room was a sanctuary, and the turn down treats were delicious! We did not want to leave however we will be back. We did get to enjoy the spa, saving something for our next visit.

Room Tip: Make time for the pool, so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MadamDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Good day MadamDie,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on our staff and facilties. I am glad to hear that Admire left a lasting impression on you and our team on young dynamic chefs were able to tantalize your tastebuds with their turndown treats.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I am so happy we tried this hotel. It will be my first choice for one night stays in Cape Town. The bathroom is especially nice and big. Love the decor. Great breakfast and location. Good bed and linen.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Good day Irma48,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are now your preferred hotel of choice when travelling to Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
893 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, every thing was just right, excellent check in and escorting to our room, suburb breakfast, very reasonably priced drinks at the bar.

Great location, easy to get to the water front and attractions.

All up highly recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Good day CocoTampa123,

Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second time in the Queen Victoria Hotel and it was fantastic both times. The hotel is just across the street from the V&A Waterfront with all of its restaurants, bars, shops and activities. The hotel booked a couple of tours for us this time as well. We really enjoyed the Cape Point and
Cape Winelands tours and our guides were very knowledgeable.

The Queen Victoria hotel is small and the service is very personal. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and they have a very nice breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Waterfront area of Cape Town.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and you either have a view of the mountain or of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey_R_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good day Jeffrey_R_Henry,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review in respect of your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your complementary remarks regarding the staff, service and facilities are greatly appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in this beautiful 5* hotel for 2 nights on our final leg of our 8 days stay in and around Cape Town - we were kindly & happily upgraded from V&A Hotel on arrival. The location is right on the Waterfront, perched up on a small hill, giving the hotel some peace and quiet.

Our corner Suite was enormous, we had the view of the Table Mountain, and the service was and is superb - concierge booked our trip to Robben Island from here in 5 mins - took advantage of the small but efficient Spa next door which my wife loved for her scrub & massage (in her opinion better than the 12 Apostle Hotel? which I preferred), and overall the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every possible way. Love the touch of chilled water with fresh fruit at the lobby - and a good breakfast to start the day off.

Room Tip: The hotel has complimentary parking so it was very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good day BlueTak,

Thank you for reviewing the Queen Victoria Hotel and for your complimentary feedback our staff and spa facilities. I am glad to see that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in ( and I've been privileged to stay in a few over the years)
The bathroom was big, 'cool' design, huge shower and deep bath.
Big bedroom, well laid out. Super high cotton count sheets.
Public areas stylish. Location, next to the Waterfront.
Staff excellent, friendly and helpful
Maybe my poached egg could have been a little softer, but that was about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikBTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeVroom, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good day NikBTanzania,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our facilities and staff. Im glad to hear that we rate as 1 of the best hotels you have stayed at.

We look forward to welcoming,

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing