We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr A Skinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dr A Skinner”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very bad. Room was not ready with arrival. When we left for dinner the extra bed was made and in that time two cooldrinks were stolen out of mini bar. Hotel then actually wanted to bill us. Will never visit your hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Xander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    113
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
432
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is certainly one of the sleek, modern and luxury hotel I had stayed. Good for business stay and couples seeking romantic feel.
- Location: Cross a road and you are at the waterfront. Great!
- Room: Do note that this hotel does not have a good view of the harbour. Though we stayed at ground floor, it was very quiet. We have 4 nights of good sleep. Free WIFI. Definitely a luxury + lovely feel.
- Services: Very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnstanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good day Johnstanno,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are all overjoyed at your incredible review of our property, especially given that you are a very well-traveled person; we are truly humbled.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon and on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a prime location (steps away from the waterfront) with an attentive front desk staff, quick wifi, delicious breakfast, gorgeous design and excellent room service. I docked one point off of the review because I didn't find the wait staff in the restaurant to be very attentive or quick at breakfast or during evening cocktail service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KBreitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good day KBreitman,

Thank you for your review on recent stay at Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your breakfast service as this allows me to monitor our service levels.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon and on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Modern design boutique hotel near waterfront, The real wow is the restaurant where the young chef turns out the most creative. --and clearly very labor intensive dishes. If you don't stay there (and the breakfast buffet is the best we've ever seen)--then go there for dinner,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theperipatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good day theperipatist,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are all overjoyed at your incredible review of our property. Chef Sam and her young dynamic team do an amazing job and creating some of Cape Towns best dishes. We would love to see your review on Dash's Trip advisor page.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Great location - central to local attractions etc.
Excellent accommodation.
Food (esp. dinner was 'to die for'. Innovative, and tasteful.
Service was great.
If u want to stay in Capetown this is the place to stay.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roXxy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good day roXxy105,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dining experience blew you away. We would love to see your review on Dash Restaurant and Bar on their Trip Advisor page.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

For us this was all about location - we were only in cape town a few days and were keen to be able to walk about in the evening without worry of straying into teh wrong area.
We spent two nights here and loved it - the location was so handy for the waterfront, for the open top bus tour (which is a great way of seeing the city) and for the boat to Robbin island. Overall excellent. There is car parking just beside the hotel and the staff were excellent at providing help and advice. We had a fantastic stay and would stay again if we were going back to south africa

The breakfast at the sister hotel - just a few mins walk away is a good alternative if you dont fancy breakfast in the hotel - both are complimentary. Both are good but quite different. The queen victoria offers a smaller choice but more luxourious options, the other hotel offers a wider choice but more standard hotel fayre - we did oen on each day and woudl have doen either again!

Room Tip: We had a ground flooor room - it had a nice patio outside that got the sun in the mornings but no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good day Haeadie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our sister properties do offer great breakfast selections aswell and I'm glad you got to enjoyed these. I hope to welcome you back on that next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I spent two glorious nights at the Queen Victoria Hotel right in the heart of the V & A Waterfront in Cape Town. It is a quiet beautiful hotel with special personalized touches. The staff was exemplary in efficiency and friendliness. The rooms are spacious with beautiful bathrooms with a tub and separate huge shower as well as twin basins which we found very convenient. The linens are the finest quality Egyptian cotton and the beds firm yet comfortably soft.

The best part is the location though. It is only a two minute walk right into the heart of the V & A Waterfront complex, so no need to find parking! With views of both Table Mountain and the ocean one is spoilt for choice. I would ask for a mountain facing room, but that is a personal choice.

Breakfast was sumptuous with a large variety of high quality food. There is also a bar and dinner may be enjoyed at the restaurant although we ate at different places.

The over all experience is one of quiet elegance surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery on earth. I hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor (American third floor) facing the mountain. You are in Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good day KrissJohannesburg,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on the Queen Victoria Hotel, its staff and facilities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing