We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fastastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff were absolutely fantastic and made my stay easy and stressfree. They allowed me to keep a car parked in their car park inbetween my stays (stay was slpit), they arranged my dry cleaning whilst I was away and basically nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms I stayed in were lovely, a decent size, elegant interior and well presented. The location was fantastic for the V&A waterfont and is literally a 2 minute walk. Breakfast was delicious and hada good selection including chocloate bunnies on Easter Sunday. I would return without hesitation. My only comment would be regarding the shower door, which everytime i showered I managed to turn the bathroom into a wetroom. Other than that my stay was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker they can give you a room with a little balcony which was handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pinktreaclemeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good day pinktreaclemeow,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on both occasions, and were able to experience all the Queen Victoria has to offer. Thank you for your feedback regarding the shower, this has been rectified.

I hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed a five night stay at the Queen Victoria and we were blown away by the comfort, the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food at its restaurant. Everything was top notch with very comfortable beds, huge and spotlessly clean bathroom (room 1305 - rocks) and a wonderful location right across the street from the waterfront. We were particularly impressed with the inventiveness of the food served at their restaurant. Someone in the kitchen clearly knows how to blend tastes and textures. We loved our time there and will be recommending it to anyone who plans to visit Cape Town.

Room Tip: We loved room 1305 - huge bathroom - very comfortable and quiet with a view of Table Mountain (when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Good day amyoscar,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are all overjoyed at your incredible review of our property. I am also glad to read that you enjoyed the inventiveness of the food that our team puts together.

I hope to welcome you back again soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit so please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our first dat in South Africa, we arrived before proper check in time and they were very kind and had upgraded us to a suite which was superb. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, it was quiet and comfortable. The restaurant served us with a delicious lunch and we set off to see the sites of Cape Town. Apart from getting stuck in the wheel, which was a very amusing experience, we saw a lot of the harbour area, after sound advice from the hotel. That evening we were guided to a lovely restaurant again advised by the very helpful hotel staff. We had a very comfortable and well looked after stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and its staff to anyone. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day Gale L,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the Queen Victoria Hotel and its staff. We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed the wonderful cuisine we have to offer.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit so please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hi we stayed here for 4 nights in April, and it was very pleasant. The breakfast is excellent, and the views are splendid. We got ground floor rooms the first night, but after requesting, they shifted us to the top which had a great view of Table Mountain and of the water front. Great location, great service, great hotel ! STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Every room is different, and they are very flexible - so when you get there, you may ask to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day Rachit J,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are all overjoyed at your incredible review of our property. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very bad. Room was not ready with arrival. When we left for dinner the extra bed was made and in that time two cooldrinks were stolen out of mini bar. Hotel then actually wanted to bill us. Will never visit your hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Xander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is certainly one of the sleek, modern and luxury hotel I had stayed. Good for business stay and couples seeking romantic feel.
- Location: Cross a road and you are at the waterfront. Great!
- Room: Do note that this hotel does not have a good view of the harbour. Though we stayed at ground floor, it was very quiet. We have 4 nights of good sleep. Free WIFI. Definitely a luxury + lovely feel.
- Services: Very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnstanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day Johnstanno,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are all overjoyed at your incredible review of our property, especially given that you are a very well-traveled person; we are truly humbled.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon and on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a prime location (steps away from the waterfront) with an attentive front desk staff, quick wifi, delicious breakfast, gorgeous design and excellent room service. I docked one point off of the review because I didn't find the wait staff in the restaurant to be very attentive or quick at breakfast or during evening cocktail service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KBreitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day KBreitman,

Thank you for your review on recent stay at Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your breakfast service as this allows me to monitor our service levels.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon and on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £248 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing