We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Rabe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Outstanding service from the reception to restaurant staff. They made our stay a memorable one. We celebrated my husbands birthday and they truly made it a great occasion. Definitely one of our top ten Hotels.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Good morning Mrs Rabe,

I so glad to read that we feature in 1 of your top 10 hotels. Thank you for your complimentary feedback and it was only our pleasure to ensure your special occasion was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and must say it was one of the best experiences I have ever had staying in hotels around the world. The accommodation was comfortable, the ambience just wonderful and the staff exceptional. They made us feel very welcome and very much at home with impeccable service, professionalism and above all always with a smile. I would definitely stay at the Queen Victoria again and would highly recommend it for the perfect experience.
Anwar

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anwar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Good day Anwar B,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you during your time with us at Queen Victoria Hotel. The team sends their warm wishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Overall we enjoyed our time at the Queen Victoria. It's a beautiful hotel situated at the V&A Waterfront (but not right on top of the touristy craziness) and the price we got was just right. However, I think we expected a little more TLC given that it was the off-season and we'd mentioned it was our honeymoon.

Nothing huge went wrong, just little things: When we checked in, we were given a room right off the lobby/restaurant and parking lot, and were told we could come back the next day to ask about being moved. When we mentioned we'd be on a day-long tour the next day, the subject was dropped, and never brought up again. The location ended up being fine except for our last night, when there was a lot of noise in the lobby for an extended period of time. Another day, the maid had come to do turn-down service when we happened to be in the room getting ready for dinner. She said she'd come back, but never did. The hotel also had work done on its pipes while we were there, and one of the two sinks in our bathroom continued to produce brown water for the duration of our stay, no matter how long we ran it for (ew).

But the rooms are spacious, pretty and well-maintained, most of the staff members we encountered were quite nice and the breakfasts here and at the sister hotels were delicious! We'd likely stay here again and just hope the staff would then go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KateinNY295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Good day KateinNY295,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and provide us with constructive feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enojoyed our breakfasts and spacious rooms. While we try our utmost to always accommodate all guest requests, this is sometimes unfortunately not possible. Your feedback with regards to turndown service has been addressed and remedial action taken.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. On your next visit, please feel free to contact me at michaelv@queenvictoriahotel.co.za and I shall do my best to accommdate all your requests.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights in July as we wanted a hotel in the V&A waterfront for convenience and ease of access to the city. We thought this was a really lovely hotel, food was excellent, fantastic breakfasts, the rooms are a good size - with enormous bathrooms.... great service from all hotel staff, who were helpful and courteous. Thank you everyone at Queen Victoria, we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the V&A Waterfront then ask for a room above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Good day Anita B,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy all that our lovely hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the bustling V & A Waterfront. The breakfasts are wonderful and we were able to go to the two other hotels across the courtyard and the street to try their breakfasts too.
The room was very nice, the bed was soft and the bathroom was huge. It was nice to have a separate room for the toilet, from the rest of the bathroom.
It's a small hotel, so the service was very personal.
The restaurant has a good selection of entrees with excellent service.
There is free wifi, which is a real bonus. Free slippers and a small dessert before bed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in a standard room, which was less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzyquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Good day Suzyquilts,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip and another night mid way through. The hotel is in an excellent position being just beside the V&A waterfront yet set back on a slight rise, so you avoid any noise and crowds. The view of Table Mountain from the breakfast table is awesome. The rooms are superb - large bathrooms and well laid out, nice touches like sweets left at turn-down. Not all rooms have views, so if you want a view then ask and they will try to accommodate (but it may cost you more!). We found the staff very professional and helpful and Mike Vroom the Manager made sure any problems were sorted straight away. Door staff and security very helpful and a pleasure to talk to.

We had dinner in the Dash restaurant - excellent and I would recommend trying this. Breakfast is superb and the cooked breakfasts are a must.

Recommended, and certainly I would go here again.

Room Tip: Take the second floor (i.e. one above ground level) for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThatsMySunbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Good day ThatsMySunbed,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was only a pleasure looking after you and the family during your recent visits. I glad to that you enjoyed all that Queen Victoria Hotel and Dash had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We could not have asked for anything more from this hotel. It was fantastic. The location was so central but amazingly quiet. The staff could not have been nicer or done more for us.

The hotel restaurant is a must - do not miss it. A brilliant young chef who pours his heart and soul into the food. Great wine list and if there were a Michelin grading in SA these guys would be top of the list. Amazing value also.

The pool area is stunning with great attention to service while lounging there and I cannot forget to mention the bathrooms. Double sized bath and shower with everything you could ever wish for provided.

If you are unsure about where to stay in Cape Town you should pick here. You will not be disappointed. We will be back on our next visit and look forward to it. Thank you for looking after us so well.

We cannot recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. I have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peach107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good day Peach107,

Thank you for lovely review of your stay at the Queen VIctoria Hotel and your complimentary feedback about our staff and facilties.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town
2,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £235 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing