We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We come to celebrate my sister birthday. This hotel is charming and classy . The rooms are nice . The view from our room was nothing special. Breakfast was good. They should have a spa and interconnection rooms. Location is very good... Walking distance to the shopping .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lelisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Good day lelisal,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our spa facilities are currently being rejuvenated and will be reopening during September under the Sanctuary Spa brand.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    111
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
426
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The location of this place makes you feel like you've escaped a little. After winding around a couple of turns, neverminding the old stone faces of the building, you step into a modern take on an old space. I arrived with a botched reservation, but the staff didn't make me feel awkward about it. They went straight to resolving the issue at hand and set me up quickly. As the hotel is relatively small, they have the time to give you a more personable approach to service, and they remember who you are. The standard rooms are sizeable, so no 'need' to upgrade. They were also clean and comfortable. The set up says they trust you as an honoured guest in their home. Breakfast was higher quality than average with a really refreshing to order selection. The wait staff, needs a little work, but they did try to please. The spa was closed for renovations, but it wouldn't have mattered had we had the time, as another was literally right out the front door. The gym really had room for no more than two people, so I chose to jog to the Virgin Active about 1.5kms away only to get caught in the rain twice. The hotel is walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, and the two sister hotels also offer their breakfast up to you if you want a change of scenery. The hotel dinner menu is quality, but we couldn't get in two of three nights we were there - being fully booked has to say something. Overall it was a great stay, and I'd be happy to be put up there again. The only failing for me was the street noise. I've never seen late night construction anywhere else in this country, but somehow they were working to midnight just outside my window on the day I arrived (probably not the norm).

Room Tip: Try to stay away from views for the sake of noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaacCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Good day IsaacCameron ,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad it felt like home and you would return to stay with us in the future. Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise you experienced. This is certainly not the norm and has been taken up with the Waterfront management.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I travel extensively and have never come across such exceptional service. The consierge service was outstanding- if it was to arrange sight seeing- suggest and reserve a restaurant- or secure transportation. I got sick and missed my flight and the manager spent an hour working on re-routing me and sorting out my plans. He could not have been more sympathetic or more helpful- he was simply the best. I had to stay another night and although things were largely booked he made arrangements for me to stay in the Dock House- which is a sister hotel.

Whatever you do- do not miss eating at Dash in the QV Hotel! I was not even aware there was a restaurant....let alone one of such sophistication. It was absolutely perfect. The best meal of our trip.

Its a small boutique hotel- with comfortable elegance.....and very well located to explore the city.

Only thing is if you want a view you must be very specific and clarify that in the booking- many on-line sights talk about the view and there are not very many rooms that have a great view. The hotel has been working towards correcting that issue- but better to clarify than be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room even if its more expensive- the other rooms just look out at nearby bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bichonronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Good day bichonronni,

It was only our greatest pleasure to look after you on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you got to experience 2 of lovely properties and all that they had to offer. Jaid sends his warm regards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights, August 21 - 24, at this lovely, small hotel. After a long journey from the U.S. it was wonderful to find a friendly staff waiting to greet us and get us swiftly settled in a nice room. The best part of the hotel and restaurant is the friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff. The hotel is small (38 rooms I think) and is in a wonderful location -- steps away from the Victoria and Albert waterfront. Although our room was nice, we were disappointed that we had a horrible view. We also had a couple of things that did not work. For instance, the bedside lights did not work. That problem was solved by putting 2 table lamps on the nightstands. Not what I expect from a hotel at this price point. Nice visit overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowMetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Good day FollowMetoo,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Queen Victoria Hotel, and that our lovely staff left such a great impression on you. Thank you for your feedback regarding the lighting, this has been addressed and rectified.


We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First class all the way.
Location was perfect. Right on the waterfront, which is the safest place in capetown. The locals say don't walk at night around capetown, other than the waterfront area as it's full of security and all the riff Taff are not there.
Lots to do on waterfront with all the great restaurants and shopping mall, and markets
Food was magnificent.
Concierge service was amazing
I'd stay again in a heart beat

Room Tip: Ask for a view of table top mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Lashes_LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Good day Lisarodi,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you got to enjoy all that Cape Town and the Waterfront has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great hotel, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast. A few minutes walk from the waterfront area. Very nice staff who were helpful and accommodating. Quiet space away from the crowds at the waterfront.

Altogether a delightful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Good day DANI24,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in the heart of the Waterfront. The service and staff are excellent. We were met by Zara on arrival who was so charming. The rooms are modern in design and have great bathrooms. Breakfast was a display of art!!! We had dinner at Dash, were Rodney the Barmen kept us entertained all night. You leave the hotel, and feel as if you are leaving your home. Will most certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesswusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good morning Tesswusa,

Thank you for complimentary feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you felt very at home with us at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Zara and Rodney send their warm regards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to spend some more time with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing