We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Conifer Cape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conifer Cape
Ranked #109 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2012

it was a pleasure to stay here. very calm and clean place with very nice people. especially for the kids (6m and 3yrs) everything was perfectly arranged. food was good and the convenience bar was helpful in the evenings. there is lot's of good restaurants around, especially a very good italian one. it is a short walk to the next bus station, where the tour busses for the city pass by.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We traveled with freinds and stayed 3 nights at the Conifer Cape town.
Very "homy feeling".
You have all you need from this Bed and breakfast . From warmy wellcoming to an answer for every question.
For those of you who travel in season there is no air condition but for as we had a nice breeze from table mountain .
You need a car for traveling around but it's very close to all atractions around.
Comfortabel bed and clean showe, tasty breakfast, quite atmosphere.

Room Tip: All of them seems beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Originally South African, I am visiting from London on business.
I stumbled across Cape Conifer on an extremely hot afternoon, walking in Cape Town, and after only a few minutes of conversation with Billie-Jean, the manager, I had decided to book my stay.
Conifer Cape is a beautiful old house in a perfect, central and very safe location in Cape Town.
Our room was elegant, comfortable and spotless.
Billie-Jean is a very personable, accommodating and welcoming host, whom I very much hope to stay in contact with.
We looked forward to breakfast every morning, which was served in a very tasteful setting but more over, beautifully and creatively presented. And of course, very tasty!
All in all, we enjoyed 3 wonderful nights. I really can't recommend Cape Conifer highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed here with my family of five in Dec 2011 and I think it was the best decision we could have made.

Our hosts John and Louisa have been excellent, going the extra mile to make us feel at home and generously extending us the use of various facilities in the guesthouse. Everything that you might need is available and the house's decor is charming. The breakfasts provided may be small in scale to suit but match up to hotels in terms of quality.

Conifer Cape is situated in a quiet peaceful corner of Oranjezicht and makes for a relaxing vacation place to stay. However, standard precautions for Cape Town do apply as crime rates are never zero here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A friend of mine and I recently stayed at the Conifer Cape Guest House for a couple of nights ending our Southafrica trip.

This B&B is very lovely and welcoming arranged. It is situated in a very quiet area just at the foot of Table Mountain but you can even reach Long Street in a couple of minutes by foot. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the bath is a bit small and a little "clairaudient" but useful and absolutely fine.

The management is absolutely friendly and very obliging. We could even use the bathroom late in the afternoon because our flight left in the middle of the night.

Tip: Most of the taxi drivers do not know this address because the street is some kind of "hidden street". But directing them to the restaurant "EAT" in Bree Street which is just around the corner works great :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I recently stayed at Conifer Cape with colleagues during a conference in Cape Town. It is a charming guest house, with big rooms, lovely furniture and comfy beds, immaculately clean. There is a nice garden that extends form the breakfast room for warm days. From the upper level, you can see part of Table Mountain lit up at night. The guest house really felt like my home away from home. The ambiance of guest houses is often impacted by the staff who run them. The manager, Louisa, is exceptional. She is such an engaging person and she went out of her way to make sure that guests were comfortable and helped with many travel and tour arrangements. The breakfasts were very good and we chose to walk as a group to the convention centre, which took about 25 minutes. Overall, a great place to stay if you prefer the warm hospitality of a guest house in comparison to the uniformity of a hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyMarie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Staff could not have been more helpful (arrived early in morning; left late afternoon; early breakfasts etc.); rooms quiet and comfortable; excellent breakfast; enjoyed walk down to Convention Centre every morning through the Company Gardens; some excellent places to eat nearby (Thai, Portugese, but especially newly opened EAT restarurant just round the corner); walked up to and from Table Mountain cable car station through the suburbs under the moutain. Would thoroughly recommend the Conifer Cape.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickKingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,408 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,444 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Cape

Address: 1 Jagersfontein Lane | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse has 4 en-suite bedrooms, with single, double or queen-sized beds. All rooms include TV, safe, wi-fi, hairdryer, heaters, fans, tea and coffee. A prompt and efficient laundry service is available. Check-in from 2pm until 7pm (for earlier or late arrival please arrange with the manager). Check-out at 10.30am (for later check-out, please arrange with the manager). Smokers are allowed to smoke outside in the garden only. BREAKFAST: Served from 7.30 to 10am, either in the garden or indoors. Earlier breakfast with the Conifer Cape could be arranged the previous day. We are known for serving healthy, delicious breakfasts. TOURS AND TRANSPORTATION: Our team offer information on tours of interest, car rentals and airport transfers, city maps and all other information needed. Conifer Cape staff are committed to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Conifer Cape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conifer Cape Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing