We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old world charm ! excellent personalized service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conifer Cape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conifer Cape
Ranked #95 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful old world charm ! excellent personalized service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I spent few nights in this boutique hotel/b&b. The décor is charmingly old world and Central European. The artwork provocative and the service outstanding.

I was ill in bed for two days. The staff offered to get me medicine. The manager brought me tea and toast with Marmite in bed. The kind local cook who served the breakfast offered to rub my back with Vicks. I could not have been in better hands. Every few hours someone came to check on me.

When next in Cape Town (on business June as well as July), I will from now on only stay at Conifer. Thanks again for the great service!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a bit of a view of Table Mountain and the Cable Car, what a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
19
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent 3 nights in this B&B in March. The house, which belongs to a family of musicians, has a lot of character. All our rooms were big, one also had a door to the small park in the back. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast variations. Christo was very helpful with a lot of tips. During the day we walked without any problems from here through many interesting areas in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schilde, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very comfortable rooms, close to table mountain, beautiful garden, good atmosphere, excellent breakfast. Christo is always ready to help and a really nice guy! I would certainly go there again if i had the chance ! Peter, Sofie, Eleni en Felice, Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We spent two nights here in April, and were made very welcome by Christo. The room was comfortable with lovely linen, and a garden outlook. The old home has a lot of charm. We ate at a restaurant Christo recommended, and the second night he drove us to and picked us up from another good place to eat. The breakfasts he prepared were delicious. We would recommend Conifer Cape to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Traveled with full family- two kids & three adults (aunt included). Nice rooms- large and very clean and the guesthouse is located at the base of Table Mountain and in a safe and upscale part of Capetown- very close to some excellent restaurants. Very helpful with some great tips for must sees around Capetown and beyond. Guesthouse is very much of an old school house- but quite cozy and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruesselsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Let´s start with the small things I dislieked, when we arrived at Conifer Cape guesthouse. Our first night we spent in a room, which wasn`that clean and towels and handsoap were missing. Not a big deal, just bad prepared. I `d like to mention as well, that there was no safe in the room to keep our personal belongins. So far not that worse, but it will become. The manager offered us another room for the next day. But as we left the guesthouse early in the morning, by putting the"DO NOT DISTURB" sign to the door, we had been really suprised as we noticed, that the stuff grabed all our luggage, clothes, cosmetics...which weren`t packed, and moved it into another room. Actually I was upset, they ignored the privacy sign and I felt an invasion of privacy. So I checked my wallet, which was in one of my bags, because there was no safe in the other room and noticed, that all my dollar bills were stolen out of it! Same happened to my husband´s wallet. We talked to the manager immediately, but he wasn`t a big help!. I`m still annoyed that we didn`t call the police that day. So we decided to move to another guesthouse the next day. We really had problems with the manager to get our money back for the three more nights we actually wanted to spent at Conifer Cape guesthouse. And of course, we didn`t get back the money, which was stolen, Would you like to stay in an accomodation, where you have been ripped by the stuff?!
And by the way, the breakfast wasn`t that outstanding like it is mentioned in other ratings-sorry!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Conifer Cape. Our room was nice and the bathroom had a claw foot tub that filled quickly as well as a great shower. Our bed was very comfortable and the bedding appropriate for the weather. My husband and I slept likes babes with the window open and a light blanket. We woke up to a beautiful view of the red wall framing green leaves outside the bedroom window. There was an air-conditioner but with the great weather we had when in Cape Town we chose not to use it.

Breakfast at the guest house is lovely! Christo makes an amazing cooked breakfast fresh every day. His eggs are deliciously unlike anything else we had while in SA. Make sure to not miss them.

Christo is more than a manager. The house has been in his family for years and although he manages it, he is also an excellent host. He handled my husband and I, who prefer to carve our own vacation, very well and graciously offered to help where he could. He also went above and beyond when he offered to find a guest house for us to stay for the third leg of our vacation as he was fully booked. Christo worked around our lack of a GPS, limited email link, closed roads in Cape Town because of an event and helped us find restaurants, areas of interest and even drove us to a guest house when he was full. This is not what a Hilton or Holiday Inn would have done!

I would highly recommend the Conifer Cape. Even though my husband and I were there as a couple, I think this guest house would also be good for families. The room we were in had an attached room with another bed. If you had babies, I would say to talk to Christo for access to a fridge as there isn't one in the room.

Room Tip: Get a small car as the parking space is a squeeze as is all other parking space in Cape Town. Let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Acorn House
#9 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Cape

Property: Conifer Cape
Address: 1 Jagersfontein Lane | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse has 4 en-suite bedrooms, with single, double or queen-sized beds. All rooms include TV, safe, wi-fi, hairdryer, heaters, fans, tea and coffee. A prompt and efficient laundry service is available. Check-in from 2pm until 7pm (for earlier or late arrival please arrange with the manager). Check-out at 10.30am (for later check-out, please arrange with the manager). Smokers are allowed to smoke outside in the garden only. BREAKFAST: Served from 7.30 to 10am, either in the garden or indoors. Earlier breakfast with the Conifer Cape could be arranged the previous day. We are known for serving healthy, delicious breakfasts. TOURS AND TRANSPORTATION: Our team offer information on tours of interest, car rentals and airport transfers, city maps and all other information needed. Conifer Cape staff are committed to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conifer Cape Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing