We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conifer Cape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conifer Cape
Ranked #97 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Manager and staff were really nice. I must say it is one of the best showers I have used in a guest house! Nothing worse than a long day and a lousy shower head. Thank for the small touch. The house itself has an interesting history as well. I would strong recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SNK1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
19
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Conifer Cape is a beautiful place located in a quite neighbourhood - not too far from the city center. The breakfasts are delicious - we were always looking forward to next day's breakfast! You are welcomed very warmly and Christo and his staff are always very helpful. Rooms are clean and we were surprised entering our room which had a magnificent interior.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaWolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Lovely place, beautiful house and a secret garden too. Breakfasts are magnificent and you are made to feel very welcome. Thank you for looking after me so well. Look forward to staying with you again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The house is elegant and beautiful, its ambience calm and welcoming. Conifer Cape is an almost-hidden gem in a peaceful, leafy location within easy walking distance of the city centre and very handy for the MyCiti bus service to travel around Cape Town.

Christo's relaxed and friendly management style belies his attention to detail and individual concern for each guest. Like him, his thoughtful staff, Lenda and Evelyn, work with unobtrusive efficiency and warmth to ensure you will be well looked after. My 'family' room was well-equipped and extremely comfortable - a haven after a day's exploration in the city with shower and lovely slipper bath, plus a room with fridge, microwave and tea-making facilities. Breakfasts can be simple or downright sumptuous - whatever you fancy - and, coming from Northumberland, it was a special treat to be able to have mine in the sunny garden every morning.

As an older single traveller, visiting a friend in CT, I could not have asked for a more secure, tranquil or hospitable base to call home for two weeks. On top of all this, Conifer Cape is excellent value for money and I feel lucky that my South African friend found it for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Center, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for two weeks at Conifer. Christo, Linda, and John were very friendly and helpful. We left feeling we will remember them as friends! The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very delicious. Christo's eggs benedict was tasty and one-of a-kind. I walked alone each morning early, up through the neighborhoods and felt completely safe.

Room Tip: The downstairs room was much more cooler and comfortable with patio door to let in breeze than the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at Conifer for a couple of weeks and we loved it our stay and I recommend it to everyone. Very good atmosphere, John, Carla and the girls were very helpful and made everything to make us feel comfortable, very clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. Our stay there could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena-Menezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Conifer on the 23rd October 2013 - our 9th Wedding Anniversary - and was pleasantly surprised. Conifer is a Victorian style manor in Oranjezicht, a quiet neighbourhood in Cape Town. It has a magnificent history. The location is fantastic and you can walk to Kloof Street and Long Street in approximately 15 minutes. It's situated in such a quiet and peaceful location. We stayed in room 3 and had a lovely view of Table Mountain.

The breakfast was delicious and tastefully prepared. The staff is friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at Conifer again.

We can certainly recommend Conifer to anyone looking for peace and quiet, but also in walking distance to Cape Town CBD.

Peter and Maretha

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maretha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Acorn House
#9 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Cape

Property: Conifer Cape
Address: 1 Jagersfontein Lane | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse has 4 en-suite bedrooms, with single, double or queen-sized beds. All rooms include TV, safe, wi-fi, hairdryer, heaters, fans, tea and coffee. A prompt and efficient laundry service is available. Check-in from 2pm until 7pm (for earlier or late arrival please arrange with the manager). Check-out at 10.30am (for later check-out, please arrange with the manager). Smokers are allowed to smoke outside in the garden only. BREAKFAST: Served from 7.30 to 10am, either in the garden or indoors. Earlier breakfast with the Conifer Cape could be arranged the previous day. We are known for serving healthy, delicious breakfasts. TOURS AND TRANSPORTATION: Our team offer information on tours of interest, car rentals and airport transfers, city maps and all other information needed. Conifer Cape staff are committed to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Conifer Cape Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing