We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Positioned Italian”

Il Leone Mastrantonio
Ranked #32 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well Positioned Italian”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Il Leone is an easily accessed charming restaurant close to the Waterfront and the CBD. You are greeted by the enthusiastic host and the service was excellent . The food was very good and the linguini prawns special was excellent as were the rack of veal and the beef pasta. The starters were generous and good as were the creme brûlée and creme caramel. The wine list was good but the choice of ordinary whiskies was a bit limited.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    191
    61
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had heard good things about this restaurant and were looking forward to some good Italian food. The decor is fashionable with plenty of tables down and upstairs. The menu had a large choice and we selected mussels & salmon to start. the salmon was OK, but the mussels were swimming in a tomato sauce. My wife had to ask for a bowl for the shells and a finger dip, the bowl for the shells turned up, but no hand wash, the napkin had to do. for the main course I had a ravioli which I could just about see through the spicy tomato sauce, the chilli was over powering and I had to scrape it off the pasta to get a hint of the ricotta. I still felt the burning in my mouth when we arrived home. to finally cap it off we were overcharged 155 rands for something we didn’t have. I appreciate we may have just been in the wrong place at the wrong time and many more people would have a good meal, but to many things were wrong about the meal. We had far better meals in Cape Town

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GazzaAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I had dinner with three colleagues at Il Leone in November 2013. The welcome is friendly and the restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere, but the food is very poor.
I ordered a plate of mixed antipasti for the table. What arrived was a sorry collection of ham, salami and stodgy mortadella, thick cut and lumpy.
I then had the Panzotti, which was big and stodgy, swimming in melted butter but with no real flavour.
My florentine steak was well cooked but lacked any seasoning. The vegetables were grilled and dry.
The only redeeming feature of the meal was the wine list, which has some unusual wines at reasonable prices. Unfortunately that isn't enough to make me try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaldFatChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Great food, service and environment. Trully recomend it when looking for a great pasta and having a good time!

Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service exceptional food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited for dinner and was blown away with the service we received from Tina and the food was exceptionally good too. Recommend this to all visitors to Cape Town - a great Italian experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing