We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Il Leone Mastrantonio
Ranked #34 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A young happy place, with great food, unpretentious and friendly service
Don't miss it, but do reserve.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RVsculpteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    187
    60
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you want to have the quintessential Italian experience this is the restaurant you don't want to miss. There is not a dish on the menu that is not worth trying and with the hosts there to make it even more unforgettable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsmartDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not as good as Mastrantonio in Jo'burg”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have been to this restaurant 3 times, on this visit we went once for dinner. The food was not great, it was too busy and the service although friendly was too slow. The room is okay and maybe it is for younger less fussy diners who like the noise and the vibe. We will probably go again as it was not an unpleasant experience and not every hit can be a coconut.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Happy Feel, great food”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good parking nearby, staff anxious to please, and after we had been there only half an hour from 19.30, the place was full and buzzing.
no wonder, the food is the draw, subtle flavours to my penne gamberetti in a wonderful sauce.
Give it a go, you wont be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonthegopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Favourite pasta place and lovely staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went there on a friday to have dinner. We got seated upstairs and were promptly served.

The waiter gave us a good introduction to the specials - which we also ordered. We had Seafood Spaghetti and Baby Prawn Linguine - both really good pasta, al dente cooked. Perfect, also the Special salad upfront was worth its money, rocket, avo and cherry tomatos.

As soon as we are back in CT - we will come again! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_St_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing