We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good italian”

Il Leone Mastrantonio
Ranked #32 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

close to the Waterfront where we were staying. Very nice atmosphere with good service. Good Italian food with pasta being a specialty. Will be back on our next trip to Cape Town

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    182
    58
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite Italian Place in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

For 6 years I am coming now to Cape Town.
I am a new kid on the block at Trip Advisor. Every year I have a fantastic time here in Cape Town. But this year it was the best. It is time to share with other travellers.
Il Leone is every year on my list. Always the best italian food. If Pasta, Fish or Meat, you will be not disappointed. Service is very friendly and professional. Don't forget to reserve a table. It is busy every night. I will come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soizik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
268 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This restaurant is very centrally located near the Waterfront. The food is excellent and the service very friendly. With reasonable prices this is a very good place to get a quick meal or to entertain guests for a special occasion. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great food - Happy relaxed Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

One of the best scaloppini my partner has ever had. And he has had a few! We found the total experience outstanding and certainly the best meal we had on our 2 week holiday in south Africa

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peryh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We came here with four people just before opening time. Without reservation we could eat here at this time (18:00) (but reservations are recommended because they were fully booked!) Amazing dinner! specials were excellent! salads with fresh products(avocado/tomato buffalo mozarella etc) delicious prepared calamari, pasta and super tasty main course meat fiorentine! Also the dessert and coffee were great! and our servant! What a friendly girl!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomme98114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing