We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built specially for the 2010 FIFA World Cup”

Cape Town Stadium (Green Point Stadium)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.77*
and up
4-Hour Cape Town City Cycle Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Built specially for the 2010 FIFA World Cup”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not generally a tourist destination unless you are a sports fanatic.
However if there is a music concert or football or rugby match on and you have time to spare it is state of the art with normally a great atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank budgiecapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    141
    46
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An awe inspiring stadium, but no soul!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Cape Town Stadium is certainly well worth a visit as it has so much to offer, especially for events and functions.
I have to say that I was surprised that it had no infrastructure in it's function rooms or even the foyer and it is very cold & windy.
So much could be done with this place but it will take lots of vision & money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“2010 WORLD CUP.... WOW”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was the highlight of 2010 for me. I attended the semi-finals of the FIFA World Cup here at Green Point Stadium. It was mind blowing. The stadium was magnificent, The game was between the Netherlands and Uruguay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damiandecanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bon Jovi concert”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Cape Town stadium is beautiful from the outside and we were thrilled to pose for photos outside before we went in to the concert. A fantastic venue with a great atmosphere, we were in the Golden Circle and the sound was excellent! Glad we could go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelique2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Masterpiece of Construction”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A must-see even if it's just to tick it off the sightseeing list ;-) bigger than it seems from a distance and very impressive from close-up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara_Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Town Stadium (Green Point Stadium) also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Stadium (Green Point Stadium)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing