We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee”

Doppio Zero Cape Town CBD
Ranked #71 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Snuggled in the iconic Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel apartment block on St Georges Mall. Opens out onto the side of the paved walkway. Serving the guests breakfast buffet as well as Doppio classics, come for lunch and you might be surprised to wait for a table - your hosts Danny and Alex are there to please..
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Fantastic coffee, friendly staff and all in a great location in the CBD at the Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Hotel. They even have free WiFi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wgp640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    166
    36
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Great…”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I carried an attitude about this place. A surly attitude. I t seemed somehow suspect. I’m not sure why. Maybe it reminded me of Jo’burg. But I realise now that I was wrong. Yes, it’s attached to a hotel. Yes, places that are attached to hotels are often faux and rubbish. Nearby hotel + restaurant = depressing. A reminder of things like transience, rootlessness and fake Irish pubs.

But hang on - Doppio Zero is actually just a restaurant. It’s not a part of a hotel, and it’s bloody great. They bake their own bread. It’s delicious. The coffee is sublime. The food is affordable. I live in town, and this is the perfect place to stop by on the way to a meeting. Or bring your laptop and do some work. A hidden gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“delicious food, speedy service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

had a speedy business lunch here. 4 of us, all ordered different things. all looked and tasted delicious. friendly and speedy service. happy to return one day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres
Level Contributor
171 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pizza ..”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

But the pasta (pasta Verdura) I had the other night was not what we expected from this cool eatery in downtown Cape Town. The veggies in my pasta dish obviously came straight from the microwave oven (and was short of the haloumi cheese that was supposed to be in it). The staff, however make up for the odd glitch here and there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolseley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pizzas”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Their pizzas are great. Whenever we stay over in a city hotel, we make sure to go eat pizzas there. This time I however decided on pasta. I was a bit disappointed, because my Pasta Verdure was without the promised haloumi and the veggies was over-cooked and over-heated (obviously in a microwave). My wife's pizza was also a bit bland this time around ... Good wine selection, excellent waiters and ambience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doppio Zero Cape Town CBD also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Doppio Zero Cape Town CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing