We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R27.00 for an Appeltiser - seriously?”
Review of Andiamo - CLOSED

Andiamo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“R27.00 for an Appeltiser - seriously?”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

30 July 2014 - Lovely little quaint place at the old part of the Cape Quarter. We sat on the outside close to the street, which had a lovely atmosphere and was quiet. The other side on the quad's side is busier and noisier.

FOOD - my companion and I shared a HRM pizza It is topped with mushroom, salami, ham and a whole lot of goodies I can't recall. The pizza itself was OK (Pappino's Hout Bay is still my personal winner). Anyway, although I was not loving the toppings, the base was delicious! Wonderful, crispy and tasty. They also served us a delicious warm bread baked on site, which I enjoyed with thick dollops of butter! I would have been quite happy to just have that for supper.

DRINKS - the drink prices were outrageous! R27 for a normal tin of Appeltiser!! I know places make their money from the drinks, but this seems excessive. R27-wow.

SERVICE - the server was very attentive, almost too attentive, but he made a good pizza recommendation and made sure that we were happy. The manageress did seem eager to get us going and paying. Brought our bill and machine before we asked for it. (It was not as if we were the last table to leave).

VALUE FOR MONEY - fairly reasonable. Except for this crazy Appeltizer price. That really dented my desire to go back there.

RECOMMENDABLE - OK 6/10.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    30
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I just don't know ......”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I wish I could tell you that the food was good but I just don' t know. It took so long to arrive that we lost our appetite and cannot comment on the food. We did not feel special and it seemed as if everyone around us was also unhappy. At least we got a 40% discount on the bill and the Espressos on the house. A pity we could not enjoy the food.

Helpful?
Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Andiamo ? Rather not”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The website appeal does not match the disappointing culinary experience !

After travelling to The Cape Quarter from Durbanville for dinner...
1. We had to call for service
2. Ambiance on the terrace very noisy
3. Lasagne defrosted and microwaved to heat ... disgusting mush
4. Pasta dish bland and ingredients omitted.
5. Food incorrectly priced and paid for at the higher charge.

As a meal we all looked forward enjoying as a family...
Never again !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Value, Service, and Delicious Food!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm a fairly frequent customer at Andiamo in the Cape Quarter, Cape Town. Their food is always top class and their service is friendly and efficient as a rule.

Definitely recommended for Mediterranean style meals. Good value, and a variety of salads, pastas, pizzas, steaks, deserts, alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, and hot beverages!

This visit was definitely above the rest. Our waitress Nicole is an amazing woman. She was friendly, understanding, and so amazingly welcoming.

As usual, Andiamo served up a fantastic meal of wholesome, nutritious, and incredibly tasty note! And Nicole really does deserve special mention. She was amazing! Ask for her if she's on duty! And please tip her well, she deserves it! (Am I allowed to say that on here?)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianInAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Bestest meal ever!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thanks guys for an super meal, this was definitely the best. The atmosphere was superb and the kids also enjoyed themselves. Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andiamo also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing