We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antidote to Industrial Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
“Antidote to Industrial Hotels”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We moved to the Mountain Manor after a night in a hotel near the Waterfront. It was much more comfortable and charming and much more suitable for our stay. Our room was an upstairs room that connected to a shared balcony. The Manor can best be described as funky (in a good way). It is in a quiet neighbourhood across the street from an excellent little Italian restaurant. It was mostly quiet with a very nice indoor/outdoor common area. Well situated near the downtown, university and Table Mountain. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking area is tight and does not allow for much room to maneuver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that were able to cater for your needs.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
11
13
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Staff were excellent and very accommodating. The breakfast was where the lodge could have done better, what was on the menu was not delivered and for someone who only ate a few pieces of fruit to be charged R75 was over the top.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Preston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence, responded to this review, 26 May 2015
Thank you for your review.
We don't normally offer breakfasts at the lodge and only do so for groups. If you were part of a group - there is a buffet breakfast for you to enjoy.
Unfortunately, I don't know details and cannot comment any further.
Regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at this backpacker for 5 weeks (US school trip), and I can tell you right off the bat it's not ideal for long term stay. If you only plan on one or two nights, maybe a week, it's great. If you're in a small group or by yourself, it's great. Larger groups, you may want to find other accommodations.

Negatives:
Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website. Most of them are of the Mountain Manor Guest House. The interior of the building is quite dilapidated
When we first arrived, the ladies (who are no longer running the backpacker) were extremely disorganized and it caused a lot of chaos
Half of the appliances in the kitchen don't work
panes in the windows in the women's bathroom are constantly falling out and needing repair, leaving any poor soul who wants to take a shower, exposed to anyone walking on Breda Street
The second stall on the right of the women's bathroom sticks, i.e., if you close it all the way, you're stuck and can't get out unless someone lets you out
The toilets are falling apart, and I actually had to get up early one morning to fix it. It had been running all night and the pipe happened to flow right by my bed
During the winter time, there's hardly any insulation. The only heat is the fire place. So most evenings you'll fight yourself bundled up in several layers, right next to the fire, with everyone else who's staying in the backpacker
Almost all of the couches are falling apart. The seat when you first walk in on the right, DON'T SIT IN IT. You will sink almost to the floor and struggle getting up, all the while everyone's staring at you like you're crazy
The Wi-Fi service, Skyrove, is a total rip off. Because I was a part of a group from school, we had to write a research paper, so I had to buy Wi-Fi access. Speaking of Wi-Fi, if you decide to use it, the only place you'll get a good connection is in a bean bag chair, next to the fire, facing the computers. You're supposed to be able to access it anywhere with no problem, but that is not the case
There's bird who lives in-between the security gate and the front door, who like to squawk at all odd hours of the day. He's like an alarm clock without a snooze
I guess because it's slow season, the cash bar was never open
Positives:
Breakfast was provided for my group every morning. It was the same exact stuff every day for 5 weeks, but Jason, the new backpacker manager, was willing to change it up a bit if we asked
The beds are clean, the sheets are clean (for the most part. If you get one with a blood stain on it like I did, just ask for a new one).
The duvet comforters you can put a deposit on, and use, are super warm
I hardly ever saw any bugs
The fire place is nice to sit around in the evenings
Even though not very many people came through the backpacker while we were there, I met several neat individuals
It's right down the road from Kloof Street and Long Street
There's a really cool coffee shop called Lazari, that's a 5 minute walk from the backpacker (it has free Wi-Fi, and delicious coffee and treats)
The gate to get in and out of the backpacker requires a key, so I felt very secure the entire time I was there
It is very affordable, and considering all of the backpackers who charge the same rate, this one is the best
Jason, the new backpacker manager, (I call him Juicy J), has great plans to restore the backpacker to it's prime, so by the time one of you stops by, it may be a completely different experience than what I had
There's a deck at the top with a beautiful view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head

Overall, my experience at Mountain Manor was not entirely negative. Although there are certain things that can be done to improve it, over time I think Jason will take care of it. I recommend this backpacker to anyone in a small group or by themselves, needing a place to stay for a couple of nights, and has a small budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashaf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Well Well this was a great recommendation!

I came across the backpackers via the coast to coast after a friend of a friend said I should come here and was struck immediately by the beauty of the guesthouse, backpackers which you can find on the website of Mountain Manor. The building is a lavish 18th century building filled with picturesque views of mountains and city.

The hostel itself is beautiful from the inside to the outside whether you the traveller or couple your needs will be taken care of. There is a few outside areas but mainly the upstairs outside area where you can sit and enjoy a drink whilst enjoying the scenery of the mountain I would say if you looking for the company of a non hectic place - you wanting the chilled vibe - clean -spacious then this is the ideal place as it has a great atmosphere, great restaurants nearby and within walking distance from the Long Street Nightseen and the BIG PLUS is there is a shopping centre 5 min away.

A note to add was when I got to the backpackers I was greeted by a very friendly and professional individual named Jason who is apparently the new manager of the backpackers and based on my stay he lives up to making a difference. He was friendly and always had a smile on his face and went out of his way to please me and the other guests in the house. His insight was valuable on the information I needed and his ideas and recommendations were what made me stay longer. Also he kept the place clean and always made sure we were looked after.

So for those of you wanting to travel into Cape Town anytime soon I would definitely recommend this backpackers as the organisation and structure of how things are run and kept is like a feeling of home YOU DONT WANT TO LEAVE. Originally a cape tonian this place will always bring me back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizskilledTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and enjoyed my stay - although it was nearly empty for most of our stay and didn't quite have the same social vibe of most backpackers, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a good location(close to long st) but a bit quieter than most hostels. Although the staff were not particularly friendly on arrival, and would crowd round the fire together when paying customers were left cold on the other side of the room, they did deal with a difficult situation with another guest very professionally and we were very grateful for that. It can be quite noisy in some of the rooms - it is a large, old house and one of the dorms is located under the stairs which is noisy with people going up and down during the nights. There are also only two showers (girls' at least) which wasn't a problem when we were there, but I imagine isn't enough when the hostel is full.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the upstairs dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ein Bokek, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

the oak lodge used to be very popular and occupied hostel until few years ago, when managment changed and it became dormitory only hostel (no more private rooms).
The new manager, an aggresive old lady from england , made every possible mistake and hence the place is usually empty and depressing. she changed all the african decoraions to ads of beers and alcohol , and hanged signs saying : "you will be deported immidiately if you bring in any beverage from the outside". The immidiate result is that the bar is allways empty, cause no guest wantS to feel as if he is there only to purchase BEVERAGE. another mistake was to choose the wrong receptionists, mostly african refugees / poor immigrants ( cause she could pay them less, or pay with accomodation), which migth result in wierd and dangerous attitudes, like the one receptionist who tells the guests that the big sofa in front of the t.v. is "her sofa", or the nigth shifter who likes to talk about religion and shouts at people - or at least at me - YOU HAVE TO BELIEVE IN JESUS !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was a wicked place and one of the few places that offered secured parking. For the traveller on a budget, this place has all the kitchen facilities for a break from the 2 minute noodles on the burner, a cosy bunk bed and some steamy hot showers.. not to mention a funny receptionist and a friendly host - cheers Valentine!

Room Tip: 10 bed dorm room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mon238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
#135 of 155 in Cape Town Central
61 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
503 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence

Property: Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence
Address: 21 Breda Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Manor Back Packers lodge is situated in a quiet, leafy area - a mere 10 minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Around the corner from the Gardens shopping centre - and the MyCiti bus - we are very close to the bus of Cape Town. All facilities in the Back Packers Lodge are SHARED - shared rooms / shared bathrooms / shared kitchens and entertainment areas. We offer 58 beds in total - rooms divided into either 12, 8, 6, 4 or private rooms of 2 beds. Make your choice. There is a roof top deck looking up to Table Mountain - a bar and an outdoor braai area for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residence Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing