We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, clean, quiet guest house in Cape Town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scalabrini Guest House
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple, clean, quiet guest house in Cape Town”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I loved staying at Scalabrini. I valued the opportunity to "give back" to the city by staying at the Scalabrini (the profit from your room rental goes to support the center's mission.) The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location is within safe walking distance of the Company Gardens, the Iziko museum of art, and all the Long St. attractions.

Room Tip: I chose a private room with en-suite and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Scalabrini Guest House in Cape Town for five nights in July 2012. We usually stay in budget to mid-range hotels, but thought that Scalabrini sounded like a good deal, which it was. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Laundry service was cheap and fast. The shared kitchen/common room was clean and well appointed. A staff member was always on duty, and slept there overnight. We were a bit taken aback when we were given six keys to get to the room, including a key to the elevator, but that was all part of the interesting experience. It was not in the most picturesque part of Cape Town, but being in City Bowl it was only a ten minute walk to the best restaurants, shops and attractions. It was interesting to read about Scalabrini's work with the poor of Cape Town, and with refugees, although we did not come into contact with any of the clientele. This was the only place in South Africa or Tanzania where we got free biscuits in the room! A good option for Flashpackers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Comfortable, clean, cheap, perfect location and very friendly staff.
There is a big communal kitchen with tv and the laundry service was perfect.
You can go walking everywhere, but we got a cab back from the waterfront at the end of the day.
What else is needed? Would stay there again and will recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_StCugat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked at Scalambrini attracted by the fact of sleeping in an old monastery and by the fact that the guest house is managed by an ONG..in reality the building is really modern and I wasn't able to see even the shape of a monastry! But the rooms are really clean, beds, sheets and bathroom were pretty new. The ONG has a catholic imprinting but there is no discriminition, no questions about religion or marriage. They are even too kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Scalabrini Guest House is part of the Scalabrini Centre that offers education and resettlement programs to refugees in Cape Town. 100% of the proceeds of the Guest House goes to the refugee programs run by the Scalabrini Centre. The rates are fantastic ranging from ZAR 150 for a dorm bed in Winter to ZAR 500/night for a double room (price is per room) in the high season. It is located on Commercial Street near Parliament, most rooms have a partial to full view of Table Mountain, the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, the wi-fi is fast and super cheap (ZAR 30 for your entire stay), and the self-catering kitchen is open 24/7. The street its on is nondescript, a bit industrial feeling (and safe), but its a good location in the City Centre and not a bad walk to most Cape Town attractions.The staff are friendly and very helpful. It is a great hostel/guest house option in Cape Town and a wonderful example of sustainable tourism that supports a good cause.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravelerTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at Scalabrini for 3 nights. The place is very cozy with large and clean en suite rooms and a nice and fully equipped guests' kitchen

Location is great, being less than 10 mins (even less) walk from Long St, Castle of Good Hope and from Cape Town central train station. Bo Kaap and the Waterfront can also be reached on foot

It is very safe as well (the security company the patrol the area has the headquarter next door) and staff is super helpful - helping in booking tours etc and in organizing airport transport

On top of this, profits go to help local poor people - totally recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fra1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We enjoyed staying in this quiet, clean hostel. Our room was spacious & clean and had ensuite.
Excellent position and very safe. Staff really helpful and friendly. We enjoyed supporting the work the Scalabrini does to help refugees and others.
Jan & Glenn, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Some have views of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#63 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Midtown Rentals at Perspectives
#69 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Kimbo Lodge Backpackers
#313 of 506 in Cape Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalabrini Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalabrini Guest House

Property: Scalabrini Guest House
Address: 47 Commercial Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Scalabrini Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing