We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scalabrini Guest House
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the guest house for four nights. Rooms were good and clean and the common kitchen area was quite big. The location during the day is very good because it is central at night it seemed a little bit off but we always felt safe. Parking in front of the building at night and weekends no problem during the day we had to re-park otherwise it would cost. All in all a god stay though.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Florian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Scalabrini Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the better part of a week (with a mid-week getaway to Stellenbosch). We found out about it from friends who have interned at Scalabrini, an NGO that offers a host of services to refugees in Capetown. The rooms in this vintage building are clean and comfortably furnished with the basics and the bathrooms are spacious and updated. There's a communal, well-stocked kitchen down the hall which is great for grabbing breakfast without having to be "dressed and ready for the day." Plus you can meet other travelers from around the globe. It's nicer than a hostel, with the convenience (kitchen/laundry) of a flat and just as nice as a basic hotel. Most importantly, it's a revenue source for this important organization and its vital work.

Room Tip: It's so affordable, go ahead and get a room with a double bed even if you're traveling alone...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Spend a week at Scalabrini Guest house. Very nice new rooms, laptop with wifi,very nice communal kitchen/dining room.Very reasonaly priced. They will send a taxi to get you from the airport and call one if you need to get back to the airport. Lots of info available about the area. Location is great. Close to trainstation and all coffee shops and restaurants. Walking distance to Waterfrot etc.

Room Tip: Single room with single bed for me!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roelof E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed for 3 days in June 2012. The room was immaculately clean and spacious (very high ceiling). Staff were helpful. Kitchenette was just down the hall.It is in a downtown area, a bit away from other hotels/tourist destinations, but it is a short walk to the gardens. Very fast to get to the City Sightseeing bus line (those red double-decker buses)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Excellent stay in Scalabrini Guesth House during July 2012 ....clean, very good position in town and excellent staff. Very sociable communal kitchen!Not difficult to reach important sites in town from Guesth House, nice turistic packages suggestions to visit Cape Point, wines production areas and townships in case ...just be carefull at night! tiziana, 42 years old, i travelled solo

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiziana693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here in November for 3 nights and recommend this place highly. It is a high standard, very new and exceptionally clean 3 star guesthouse. The location is very good, right next to the Parliament and close to the city centre and bars / restaurants. There is a homely shared kitchen which was also spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you are looking for affordable, clean and quiet accomodation with a with lovely understated style then Scalabrini is a great choice. We spent three days here with our 3 kids and found it to be a great location to explore the inner city also to get to the V & A. It is close to a City Sightseeing Bus stop so you can get to any of the main sights with ease.

The rooms are basic, clean and simply lovely...the communal kitchen large and well equipped. Laundry service is cheap and eeasy to organise.

This place is a gem for the traveller who wants affordable accomodation but wants to avoid the crowds of backpackers.

We'll be back..thanks to Ruvi and her team for creating such a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlandshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
690 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,741 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalabrini Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalabrini Guest House

Address: 47 Commercial Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Scalabrini Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing