We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Uthando”
Review of Uthando Tours

Uthando Tours
Ranked #29 of 332 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uthando (Love) South Africa is an internationally award winning and unique Non Profit Organisation and Fair Trade certified company. Uthando raises funds and other forms of assistance for a broad range of inspiring and innovative community development projects in South Africa. Uthando runs tours as daily scheduled tours AND tailormade private tours (for groups of any size). We take visitors into the townships (impoverished areas created during Apartheid on the outskirts of Cape Town) to visit incredible community development projects. We shine a light on the remarkable people and projects that are helping to build the new South Africa at grass roots level. On our tours we tell the remarkable story and history of South Africa and its brutal past, we discuss pertinent issues confronting our people, and provide an inspiring sense of hope through the efforts of dedicated grass roots leaders. Our tours are authentic, meaningful, non-invasive, respectful and very importantly beneficial to the communities being visited. The cost of our tours incorporate contributions to the projects that we visit and can thus also be considered philanthropic in nature. UTHANDO IS FAR MORE THAN JUST A NON PROFIT COMPANY, IT IS A LABOUR OF LOVE DEDICATED TO HELPING CREATE A MORE JUST AND EQUITABLE BRAVE NEW WORLD !
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love Uthando”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was able to go with James on several tours with my family. All tours were were an enriching experience. On one of the tours we visited the Hout Bay Music Project; a music school for the children of the nearby township. On another tour, we were able to visit Abalimi Bezekhaya where women from the township grow vegetables. On the same tour, we were able to see a performance from the Thokozani Brothers where both the boys and girls sang beautiful songs.
Fantastic experience and great to share with the family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank XPL2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The back-story of Cape Town, so important to see”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was an exceptional experience. We visited four different non-profits and were able to observe some wonderful work being done in the community. We danced with the elderly, listened to children singing, saw marvelous gardens planted for and by locals and watched beading and other crafts being taught. All these projects contribute to helping bring the townships out of poverty. We owe it to ourselves to go and watch and contribute. Cape Town is a marvelous place for restaurants, museums and scenery, but that's only part of what should be seen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Township Tour.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was very impressed with the quality of this Tour.
Our tour guide, Xolani was superb. His excellant knowledge of the townships was clearly communicated to us, with his skilled vocal vocabulary. His endless energy kept us regailed the entire Tour. He gave us great incite into the African cultures and his story of his imminent marriage and the Lobola ( payment to his future wifes family) that he was busy with negotiating was fasinating to hear.
The Tour gave all of us such a good insite into African life in the townships and it was important that we experienced this side of our community.
Recommended for everybody who visites South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Township tour”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were a little nervous of taking our children (7and 10) on this tour but we are so glad we did - informative, real and truly inspirational I hope it will transform their lives. The projects we visited were diverse and the information we were given on all aspects of life in the townships really opened our eyes to the problems that are faced as well as the amazing optimism with which they are tackled. We visited a community garden and packing shed, kindergarden and an old people's day group all helping to give the communities real help.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We left feeling drunk on song”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This tour was recommended by our g adventures rep, and she was right in saying Uthando not only offer fantastic experiences, but help a great cause. The people we met had so much passion and energy. From vegetable growing to a large group of 'oldies' who sang and danced for us, it was all so memorable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uthando Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Uthando Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing