We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay to get a flavor”

Vamos Township Tours
Ranked #38 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vamos is deeply embedded in the Langa Township through its ownership (Siviwe), tour guides (Siviwe, Nathi, Gladstone, Abosh), and community involvement (Happy Feet Youth Project). Touring with Vamos is like being a guest in our neighbourhood! We live here, this is our home and you are our special guest.Our experiences too, are different. We take smaller groups on interactive walking or cycling tours around Langa. We visit friends in their homes and shacks, we hear their stories, we show you their businesses, we share traditional Xhosa beer, we smell sidewalk barbecues, (taste if you'd like), visit shebeens and spaza stores. We want to share with you, a slice of life in the townships.On weekday mornings, your tour will include a meal, usually a barbecue at the well-known Mzoli's in Guguletu. Our afternoon tours include a visit to the Happy Feet Youth Project. On Sundays, we include a visit to a Gospel Church. The unexpected thing about a tour with Vamos, is that most guests come away feeling positive and inspired. Our tours are not about poverty .... yes you will see signs of poverty, but rather our tours are about people and how they are lifting themselves out of their poverty. Positive, resilient, hopeful people who are friendly, welcoming and proud of their culture and history.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“okay to get a flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

For anybody who has been inside Township before in South Africa it's worth the time and money. Our guide was and is very passionate about the Tour, if you can separate the sarcasm from his enthusiasm you'll be in good shape.
You can expect to see how the Black South Africans live in the Townships especially the Langa one. You will see how much trash is accumulated while many hang around felling sorry and badly done by.
The new homes look very spacious and very well constructed and it would interesting to see how they look in 5 years time.
I remember the Aussie Aborigines going into simular homes and how they looked inside a year.
I hope that the new residents look after new houses inside the best country in the world, South Africa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Must see in Capetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A visit to Capetown is not complete without seeing the townships, and the Vamos tour is great. Siviwe guided us around, and he just knows everyone around, having grown and still living in the township.

I saw some reviews of people complaining about the hypocrisy of visiting a township. I would say the opposite. Only after being there you can begin to understand South Africa and the Apartheid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sergiofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A most wonderful decision”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure if going in a township tour was the right thing to do but coming from Australia we have little information on the townships within South Africa so we as a family decided this was the only way to find out more. We are so very pleased that we did. Siviwe was our tour guide and is a remarkable young man. How special it was to have someone that lived within the township take us around and explain the history and current challenges of the people that were within his community. It was the best way for us to provide a little bit of support to a South African township and I strongly encourage everyone to do this tour as a way of helping a remarkable and truly special young man create a business and give back to his community. Good luck Siviwe and thank you for a delightful and thought provoking day.

Helpful?
3 Thank FOODIE11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

A trip to Cape Town would be missing an enormously important and genuinely thought provoking experience if you missed out on a township tour.

We booked Vamos on the power of their trip advisor rating and we were not disappointed. We were picked up by our guide Gladstone at our hotel in a comfortable modern 'minivan' before collecting another couple on our way to the township of Langa. I have to say it started a little slowly and initially I had my doubts but it was building a picture and setting the 'story' in some context. From beginning to end it was interesting, sad, uplifting and thought provoking. You'll get a chance to see and feel everything you imagine - be prepared to be moved! You'll be amazed by the positivity of people living in such difficult circumstances and the pride they show in their country, each other and everything they do.

Thanks so much Gladstone, you're a gentleman and I look forward to seeing your home in 'Beverly Hills' one day! ;-)

Helpful?
Thank Rikstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Really great tour given by a local resident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

They pick you up from your hotel in a comfortable air conditioned minibus and drive you to a township (in my case, it was Langa). The driver and tour guide are the same person and is a local resident of the township. He taught us a few words in Xhosa on the way, and even sang a song in his native language. The tour itself includes a lot of walking and you feel quite safe when you are with a local guide. I tried the gospel tour which included a 10-15 minute stop at a local Baptist church. The energy there was amazing! People are singing and dancing. Tour eventually ends at a local house where they cook for you. Food was great and host was very hospitable. The township itself is strikingly different from Cape Town. You see how people live there, in what bad conditions... And you visit a few local houses. Overall, it was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vamos Township Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Vamos Township Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing