We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great corner pub, with real people, not just tourists”
Review of Van Hunks

Van Hunks
Ranked #170 of 1,156 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great corner pub, with real people, not just tourists”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped twice, If your older, you may want to go for a late lunch - the shrimp was fantastic, service friendly and fun. It gets rowdy at night but we braved it for an after dinner drink. Enjoyed watching soccer with the crowd but knew when it was time to leave. Left with smiles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kivufans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    73
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We went to Van Hunks a year ago, attracted by the fact that they had a big range of craft beers. Shame was that when we took visitors there a few days later, the choice was down to 1-2. However the pub food was good and the mister much appreciated after a trip up Table Mountain. So it was a real disappointment when we went back there recently on a Saturday evening with younger visitors; it was very busy. It seemed that a large table of diners had arrived shortly before us and their order held up everyone else's - or so we were told. Drinks service was OK but food service was very very slow. And the quality of our food (hake and fishcakes) was poor, quite tasteless, and we couldn't wait to finish and leave - but it took the patience of a saint waiting for the bill, we had to ask 3 times for it. Won't be taking anyone back there, I'm afraid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pub&grub”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I judge restaurants on what they claim and this place was great.

If you want a fancy, seven course meal, this is not the place.

If, however, you want a cold craft beer, vibey atmosphere and decent pub-style food, you dont have to look much further.

Will return with some friends

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dirre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Popular and friendly”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stopped in for lunch with friends. Started out quietly but within half an hour the place was buzzing. Food was good as was the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ribs of my life”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My friend recommended the ribs here so when we found ourselves there later in the week I had to try. Best decision. The taste even beat my mums - which is pretty hard. Definitely eat at this place!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Hunks also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Van Hunks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing