We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I've been staying at Sweet Olive Guest house for many years now before they took over it in fact. Since taking over the guest house they have made many improvements to the property.
The rooms are quiet and very comfortable and the location is great to walk to the many places to eat and shop in Sea Point. I've never reviewed in the past because I don't want it to become too popular and not be able to get a room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Phillip B,

Here as well we would like to express thankfulness to Phillip B, that he spent his valuable time to review 2 of our places.

We thank you as well for your honesty of not placing reviews for Sweet Olive Guesthouse, as you always staying with us during our peak season since years. It is true, that it is not always easy to get a room for the desired time period.

Our entire team is looking forward welcoming you in 2015 and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Maggie for
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at the Sweet Olive for 3 nights in Dec 2013. It was our first visit to Cape Town and we didn't know all the areas, but were pleased with our choice of Seapoint and this hotel. There are plenty of decent places to eat within short walking distance (we ate at La Boheme and the Duchess of Wisbech, which were both great). Walking along the Seapoint promenade on a warm summer's evening is fantastic, and the stop for the hop on/off bus is just outside the Winchester Mansions - a couple of blocks away from the Sweet Olive. Like a few others we were were a bit concerned about our safety when walking around the area at night, but certainly had no problems on our trip.

To the hotel itself - the room we had was great - the main bedroom and bathroom were of a very good size and all nicely furnished, and the aircon worked well. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good with lots of different things to choose from. However, be aware that breakfast is a communal affair on a long table outside - great if you want to meet people, but not so good if you are a grumpy git in the mornings like me ! The honesty bar was also most welcome and reasonably priced. We didn't use the pool - it is just a tiny splash pool really, and didn't look that tempting.

The only real downside for me is that - as previously mentioned in other reviews - there is no-one at the hotel after 5 p.m. apart from staff coming in to close up the shutters and check round. This shouldn't be a major issue - however we came in late one afternoon to find that the wifi had stopped working. We probably wouldn't have been too bothered normally, but there is a charge for wifi (although to be fair this was struck off our bill on checkout as the wifi was down for over a day). We tried calling the central Sweetest Guesthouses helpline, but to be honest I didn't find them particularly helpful. We were told that someone would be round to have a look, but when the staff came in to do an evening check they were unaware of the problem. Ok so not having wifi for a day or so wasn't the end of the world, but having off site reception etc doesn't quite work for me.

However this is quite a minor point - all in all its a good hotel and I would stay here again if I were visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Headington_Boy

Thank you very much for your time to write this review which is very valuable to us.
We are very glad to hear that you are happy about your choice to stay at Sweet Olive Guesthouse.

Our rooms as well as our entire Guesthouse are individually decorated with a touch of Africa, it is always nice to hear that people notice it and like it. Our staff members prepare every day with pleasure a various breakfast. Usually our guests appreciate to meet people from other countries at the breakfast table and to share their experiences together.

We would like to take the opportunity to bring some light into the point you raised. We are really sorry that the internet was not working on one evening. We always have a handover to inform the staff from the late shift about what happened during the day. It might be that this information was not passed on. Our IT Specialist came in the next day and fixed the problem. As you already mentioned, the internet fee usage for your entire stay was deducted.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again during your next trip to Cape Town.

Kind regards from Michele and the entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Lovely guest house conveniently located in a beachside suburb of Cape Town. The rooms are spacious and modern, with a beautiful breakfast area outside in the sun. Friendly communal dining area. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SnapandCrackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Sheikhariss

We thank you very much for spending your time to write this valuable report. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sweet Olive Guesthouse and that you liked the room as well as our breakfast. We are also glad to hear that you appreciated our friendliness. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Sweetest Guesthouses.

Kind regards
Johanna and the entire team of Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've been staying one of Sweetest Guesthouses regularly for the past 6 years. I keep coming back because staying here is like staying at home - if not better! Thank you to the caring guesthouse managers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CMF_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

We Thank ‘Chiara F’ for the effort to place the review, and we are happy to hear that you always have a good time staying with us at Sweet Olive Guesthouse.

Your review is really valuable for us and we are looking forward welcoming you at the Sweetest Guesthouses soon again.

Kind Regards
Olivia and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great atmosfere, quite place. Really nice furniture and facility. Excellent services provided by hotel´s employees. Hotel staff is able to do great recommendation in terms of restaurants, places to see etc. Good access to all Cape Town important places. Only one area for improvement: Stability and performance of WiFi in all hotel´s places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Karel B.

Our employees are pleased about your personal comment regarding their service performance.
At our guesthouses we provide the biggest Bandwidth RSA provides, which in comparison to Europe is unfortunately not as strong. Especially at times, when multiple user are accessing the Internet. We are aware of this issue and do have plans in the loop for the future, depending on the Bandwidth improvements in RSA.

We appreciate your valuable time to place this review which is important to us. Our entire team wishes you and your colleagues a lovely stay and we hope you still enjoy the last couple of days left at Sweet Olive Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We find this a happy place to be. Nice african colours and a welcome atmosphere. The owner was friendly.The location was in a quiet area of Cape Town. Our room was wonderfull. The room was made with natural materials.
We liked that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hello Connie,

All our houses are individually decorated with a touch of Africa, its always nice to hear that people notice it and like it. We try to create a home away from home with a nice and easy going atmosphere.

All our guesthouses are located in the centre of Sea Point, a lot of good restaurants are located in Sea Point and if you travel for 10 minutes you are in the middle of Cape Town.

It was a pleasure having you and to make your time in Cape Town as comfortable as it could be, we hope the rest of your trip was as pleasant as your stay in Cape Town.

Frenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised. Everything was very modern art styled. Breakfast simple but everything in short very good.
We had a very nice time and would like to come.

GREETINGS at Therry und the rest

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dockultur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieF8005, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Dockultur,
We thank you for your valuable time to write this review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cape Town with us.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Sweetest Guesthouses.

Thank you again for your comment they are very valuable to us.

Kind Regards
Alexandra and the Team of Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#65 of 110 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#74 of 156 in Cape Town Central
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Orange Guest House
Sweet Orange Guest House
#57 of 156 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#47 of 156 in Cape Town Central
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Bay Guest House
Anchor Bay Guest House
#43 of 156 in Cape Town Central
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#58 of 156 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Olive Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Olive Guesthouse

Address: 9 Oldfield Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £51 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Olive Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweet Olive Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Olive Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing