We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honestly THE best sushi in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1890 House Sushi

1890 House Sushi
Ranked #205 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Honestly THE best sushi in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

By far consistently the best sushi in Cape Town. We'll priced and always fabulous! We eat here often and have never had a bad meal there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChantalCantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“amazing knife skills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Best Sushi ever :)
We sat and watch the preparation of the most delicious food - each morsel was delicious.
Lots of love and care in the preparation and we did appreciate it.
Chief chef seemed to know everyone except us - good sign.
I shall never de-skin a salmon without thinking of the chef, his amazing knife skills and wishing I was back there eating his sushi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyflowerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lucky find for brilliant sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Don't you love going down a side street and finding a tiny place tucked away that just has the best food ever? Well luck was on our side today when we found this sushi bar down a pretty ordinary road in Observatory.
The best way to enjoy Sushi is sitting at the bar watching a conveyor belt of artistic creations travelling past, and to watch a master at work slicing, rolling, decorating - all part of the fun.
And oh my goodness was the sushi good?? "To die for" as the saying goes. From edamame beans to bean curd pockets filled with luscious avocado and prawns. Just about every combination you can imagine and especially good was the intriguing deep fried tuna in a chillie and caramel glaze. I have never tasted anything like it!!
Another indication of good food is the number of people who were obvious regulars all greeted personally by the busy chef.
If you like sushi do yourself a f(l)avour and take a trip to Obs to taste the best in Cape Town.
It was also very reasonably priced - even better bonus!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamakalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stumbled across this place as a result of not making a booking at Panchos, and to be honest, I'm happy I did. Not expecting much from this little house turned sushi bar, the sushi was reasonably priced and quite good, as for the hot food - I ordered a chicken fried rice and that was pretty good. The service was ok but Charlie definitely has quite the personality to keep patrons happy. Overall, if I'm in the area, would definitely pop by for a quick meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SherwyN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Cape Town by Far!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My partner and I absolutely love 1890 Sushi house.. the fish is extremely fresh and the service personalised and attentive. Both Charlie and Mika always remember us by name and the gents behind the sushi counter do a fantastic job creating sushi that is out of this world! An absolute gem and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Braegha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1890 House Sushi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to 1890 House Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing