We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend to everyone”

Siviwe Township Tours
Ranked #24 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialize in eye-opening guided visits of Langa, Cape Town’s oldest township. You will learn about our culture, lifestyle, history, hopes and dreams and you will get the chance to interact with us locals along the way. The visit takes approximately 2-hours. Private tours are possible on request and can be tailored to suit your preferences. It's possible to use your own transport to get to the tour or have transport included. Safe parking is provided if you come with you own transport.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recommend to everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were there last Feb and it was one of the best experiences in Captown. Warm people, mind refresher and the tour was great. He know everyone and showed us the township from a unique perspective. We recommend everyone to go there. Excellent, thanks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    20
    1
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding tour for both visitors and locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

One truly can't begin to understand South Africa until they also visit a township. Siviwe is a wonderful guide, so be sure to seek his tour. His sensitivity to people, great communication skills and his pride in the township of Langa make him an excellent tour leader and friendly companion for your visit.

We first met Siviwe through the Langa youth program, "Happy Feet", which is dear to his heart. These kids often participate in a portion of the tour, school schedule permitting. We have always brought our visiting overseas friends to Langa for Sivewe Township Tours and these visitors invariably refer to the experience as a "highlight" of their visit to South Africa.

This year one of our local Cape Town friends asked to come with us. It was a total delight to us all! As she described, "The experience was extremely interesting... All these years and I have never been inside a township... Siviwe was so clever and nice... His English was beautiful.... The tour was very informative, everybody we met was so friendly and outgoing and welcomed us into their lives.... It was just such a good experience and I am so glad that I did it!"

The Langa towns people will impress you with their dignity and pride and the children will win your hearts (especially his "Happy Feet" kids). Be sure and ask about their program. Best of all, Siviwe will give you the story of the Langa (Xhosa) people.The information will include pieces of their culture and history and explain to you their current successes and challenges. He welcomes and readily answers all questions.

He will weave you a fascinating story that will leave you a more informed visitor to South Africa, or even better, a wiser citizen of South Africa. His hope is that through these common conversations and shared experiences we will all know and understand each other a little better...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great township tour of langa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The owner managed to organise us a guided tour of langa within an hour. Lovely guides!! We took our 2 kids (5 and 8) and felt safe all the time. Really worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carasaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was a great thing to do: interesting, informative and enjoyable. The guys that run this are absolute salt of the earth and obviously care about bettering the township and teaching people about the township and South Africa. Our guide, Nathi, was very knowledgeable and encouraged us to ask questions. You get a very good idea of township life and all they are doing to improve the future for their children. We were both so glad we did this.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_Elizabeth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Siviwe Langa Township Walking Tour-Awesome experience for entire family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children ages 9 & 11) visited Capetown in November of 2013 and wanted to experience a township tour from a local resident's perspective. Nathi (a local resident and employee of Siviwe Tours) was our tour guide- We could not have asked for a better experience! We were a little unsure about booking a township tour in South Africa (safety concerns, etc) but we were impressed with the Siviwe Trip Advisor reviews posted and decided to book it. Siviwe was really accommodating of our requests and responded promptly to e-mail inquiries. We wanted our children to give a little something to the local children during the visit (school supplies or something), Siviwe suggested that the local children really love tennis balls to play with. We packed a bag full of tennis balls and the children loved them- I just wish we packed more as we ran out about 1/2 way through our tour! It was obvious our guide was well-known in the community as we walked throughout the Township. We had rented a car in Capetown so we met our guide at a local store on the outside of the township where he then drove with us to the local Community Center where they had security watch our car during the tour. Nathi, our tour guide, was very friendly and did a great job interacting with our boys as well as the local children. He even gave our boys Khosa Names ("Luvuyo" and "Xholani") and taught them how to pronounce them which was fun. We also visited a few Township Homes and enjoyed meeting the local residents. There is also the opportunity to purchase art/ pottery from local township craftsman and artists.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CathTravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siviwe Township Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Siviwe Township Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing