We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Ethiopian Restaurant in Cape Town”
Review of Little Ethiopia

Little Ethiopia
Ranked #219 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Best of Ethiopian cuisine, prepared 100% in a traditional way so that you may experience the original taste of this internationally popular Eastern African food. Visit us at LITTLE ETHIOPIA RESTAURANT!!
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great authentic Ethiopian Restaurant in Cape Town”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

While our honeymoon in Cape Town, we tried many different restaurants, but this is the best quality food we had in town. The food is authentic and perhaps the best Ethiopian restaurant we have tried.
Food is prepared fresh in a family restaurant. Totally worth it if you're in Cape Town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sdias525_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Messy”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Why do I want to eat with my hands. The food was not nice and the overall experience dismal. The waitress was rude.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrithegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Look this up while in Cape Town for a different experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had been recommended the Little Ethiopia by firends of friends who always eat here when in Cape Town. You wouldn't come across it by accident unless in the area wandering. However it is worth looking it out for a different experience. It is a small restaurant with small low tables and some outdoor seating in the street. We chose the mahberawi which is a small amount of each meal on the menu as we had never tried this type of food before. It was delivered on a large rice bread and beautifully presented. You then get more rice bread to eat the food with. This is all authentic and there is no cutlery involved. Soft drinks and coffee is available and you can BYO. The waitresses were fanastic and we chatted with the owners who were lovely. The cost per person for the main meal was R50! Great value and worth looking up whe in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anniewphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, family-run restaurant with scrumptious food!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wonderful food, served by people who took pride in their dishes. The staff were very friendly, including their little baby :) The restaurant is small, making you feel at home. The food was VERY good value. We liked the place so much that we went there twice during our stay!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank afomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Delicious authentic food served by lovely Ethiopian ladies.

A must stop for any foodie.
Dont forget to try their Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeylaTabrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Ethiopia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Little Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing