We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start a visit to Cape Town”

Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour
Ranked #57 of 346 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a living, noisy and intriguing city as we manoeuvre through its busy streets. History, culture and architecture are woven into our story. We find our way to the colourful Bo-Kaap, the country's oldest Muslim area, (it is recommended that ladies carry a scarf to cover the shoulders, in the event that we enter a mosque), step into St. George's Anglican Cathedral and enjoy a stroll through the Company's Gardens.We visit Groote Kerk, the country's oldest church and allow the story of slavery to unfold as we pass the former Slave Lodge and look at the Slave Memorial on Church Square. The walk then leads to the Grand Parade, lined by the City Hall where Mandela gave his first speech as a free man, and the Castle built on the city's original shoreline. The story of District Six is told, historic murals and grand art deco buildings are discovered. The walk ends on bustling Greenmarket Square, dominated by the Methodist Church and Old Townhouse. The walks last about 2.5 hours and can be handled by anybody, there is no steep uphill except for a gentle rise towards Bo-Kaap. The tour takes place on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, starting at 11h00 and are conducted in English and/or German, depending on the composition of the group. No prior booking is necessary during the summer season, although in the winter months from May to end September it is advisable to book. Just come to meeting venue in 66 Loop Street/ cnr Hout Street to purchase your ticket. The fee for adults is R 250.00 per person (cash only). Accompanied children under 14 walk free. N.B. It is advisable you come by taxi. Cape Town's streets are heavily congested and parking is extremely difficult to find.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We loved this walking tour with Ursula and thought it was a great way of getting to grips with the city centre. I'm glad we did it early on in our visit. Especially impressive was that she conducted the tour in both English and German simultaneously. Ursula clearly loves Cape Town and knew a great deal about the past and present of all the places we visited, imparting lot of interesting information. I particularly enjoyed the foray into the Bo Kaap which I wasn't sure about visiting alone, but the whole tour was excellent.

1  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

How wonderful to see hear from you and to see that you really made the most of your stay in Cape Town - hiking up Table Mountain along the Kasteelspoort route, cycling in the winelands. These are really the best ways to discover a city, its people and surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to reflect so positively on the walking tour - apart from the history, culture, architecture you probably picked up a little German too! All the best and come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bo kaap"
in 13 reviews
"past and present"
in 3 reviews
"guide book"
in 3 reviews
"parliament building"
in 2 reviews
"hour walk"
in 2 reviews
"prins prins"
in 2 reviews
"rich history"
in 2 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"stevens"
in 11 reviews
"architecture"
in 13 reviews
"introduction"
in 8 reviews
"knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"information"
in 12 reviews
"insider"
in 3 reviews
"depth"
in 3 reviews
"mosque"
in 2 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

The pleasure of Ursula Stevens' walk through central Cape Town is as much in her views of the place she's lived in for forty years or so as in what one sees. Her attitude to the city is one of deep affection and her enthusiasm for the place shines through. You'll get some history, of course, but also a sense of what this city is like to live in now, today, and she steers clear of the obvious political dilemmas with which in South Africa are so prevalent. It's the tolerance of the different cultures one for the others which is pointed out, a much more human approach than that of the conflicts which are so often the stuff of South African discussion. As for the walk, well, you get an apercu into Cape Town which gives you plenty of scope to make your own more detailed visits later, and you're left with a basic and clear view of what makes up the city and a strong desire to look at it more closely and in greater detail. We have been doing just this in the days since taking the tour, which hugely enhanced the pleasure of city wandering.

Thank tepl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughts on the walk. It makes me feel that I achieved my goal, namely to make the visitor feel at home in the city, to enjoy the history, architecture, the people, to imbue a sense of the past and at the same time, of the present.You made this possible with your questions and receptiveness to my answers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wolfgang was our tour guide and he made this tour an absolutely amazing experience! He was charming, beautifully mannered and extremely knowledgeable about Cape Town. He made the history come alive and entertained us non stop, well beyond the 2.5hour time limit due to the fact that we had so many questions. Just can't thank Wolfgang enough for such an amazing tour. Do this - a morning well spent and very reasonable for what you get!

Thank JiffyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It is truly wonderful to receive such positive echo about the tour. Cape Town is an amazing place and I do agree with you, one could spend the whole day and not a mere two and a half hours exploring it. But then, it will hopefully also inspire you to re-visit the places with which you became a little more familiar.
Enjoy your holidays in our lovely city and than you again for having taken the trouble to review the walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A must do for everyone visiting Cape Town and need an orientation. The tour covers most sights of the city center and Bo-Kaap with just the right amount of information. Ursula - our guide is fluent in several languages and a true fan of the city. Do not miss out!

Thank Miriam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks for the compliment. I enjoyed walking with you and our quite international group through the city. I think, I was also very fortunate to have linguists in my group - like you - who made it that much easier for me. Cape Town is an easy place to enthuse about, so much to see, so much to do. Hopefully this was not your last visit! Enjoy your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you've ever wished you could walk around a new city with someone who's lived there for decades, hearing all about the neighborhoods and history, this tour is for you. Definitely recommended, particularly as an intro if this is your first visit to Cape Town. Ursula is a font of knowledge, and is friendly and easy to understand as well. In addition to showing you various Cape Town landmarks, she'll suggest other attractions that this tour doesn't cover (like the castle) and give you tips for how much time you should expect to spend on them. The tour isn't terribly cheap but it's definitely worth the price.

When I took the tour I was the only person on it, which for me was a plus -- I could ask all the questions I wanted. Had some fun discussions of the various architectural styles on display in Cape Town!

Expect to spend around 2.5 hours walking around the city center and Bo Kaap, some of it on cobblestones, so wear sensible shoes. If it's summer, you may want a hat or sunscreen -- you'll spend plenty of time in the sun.

If you don't enjoy history this may not be the tour for you. But if you do, sign up!

1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownonfoot, Owner at Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Great to hear from you again and thanks for taking the time to review the walk. My aim is really to showcase the city and I trust that I did not burden you with too much history!
Keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Wanderlust - Cape Town on Foot Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing