We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tours and great people!!”

PG Tops Travel and Tours - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We do what we love and we love what we do. PG Tops and sister company Luxury Safaris promises to show you why Cape Town, the Garden Route and our wonderful wildlife and game parks ensure the holiday of a lifetime! All tours are fully private and customized.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tours and great people!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I used PG tops for 3 days of touring and airport transportation. From our first emails with PG Tops; they were very professional, friendly, and SOO ACCOMMODATING!
We had originally booked with Pieter and due to an injury, we had Yolanda for 2 days and Godfrey for a Township tour. and they both were amazing!

EVERYONE at PG Tops is very accommodating -- especially when our Robben Island tour was cancelled (tickets we booked on our own) and PG Tops rearranged our tickets and their schedules so we could still do everything we wanted when we were in town!! Thank you Sofie!

We spent 2 days with Yolanda for a Peninsula Tour and Winelands Tour. She is young fun and very nice to answer all of our questions. We had never done private tours before and were worried it would feel 'strange' but Yolanda is so open and nice and we could do whatever we wanted! We had reservations to paraglide and due to weather it was questionable; so yolanda even picked us up early and switched days around for us due to Robben Island cancellation and Paragliding weather. Thank You Yolanda!

We spent a day with Godfrey at his home of Langa Township. This is a tour where you want Godfrey. He grew up there and still lives there; so you definitely get a personal insight to the townships. This is a very different tour than others; more of a cultural tour and not the popular tourists sites of Cape Town.

Overall PG Tops was GREAT in helping us organize our 4 days in Cape Town. Yolanda had some recommendations for restaurants, shopping, and truly personalized our days. Sofie and Bianca's organization on the front end was SOO very helpful! Pieter, I'm sorry we missed touring with you -- but we had an AMAZING TIME!

Highly Recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyR013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of spending a day and a half with Rudi, from PG tops tour.
We went to Robbin Island, along side a visit to table top mountain which was very enjoyable. our guide was excellent and very helpful.
We also did the township tour which is recommended.
overall, an excellent tour company- I would recommend them!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aalhilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of spending the day with Rudi, from PG tops tour.
We had a private tour of Capetown. Rudi was not only a very knowledgeable expert on his city; he was also very pleasant and we enjoyed his company immensely. I always knew I would like Capetown, which is one of the most beautiful cities in the world, but I do believe Rudi made our experience even greater. I would return in a heartbeat and will recommend this company very highly to anyone I know who's lucky enough to visit South Africa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ourkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 day tour with Erica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great tour. We needed to maximize our short stay in Cape Town and they made it work beautifully. Erica was great and retrieved us from airport and straight to Table Mountain with pre purchased tickets. Then quick city tour Museum visit and on to Romney Suites Hotel which they recommended and reserved for us. Great stay. Started early next day with stops at Cape of Good Hope and Boulders beach and back to airport to pick-up van that they had arranged for us. Could never seen so much in such a short period of time on our own.
Only slight glitch was final payment confusion, but we worked that out with help of wifi at coffee shop along tour route.
Would recommend them without reservation.
Very professional organization. They clearly take pride in providing an outstanding experience.
Erica should be commended. Her efforts made our trip memorable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordonL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGTOPS, Manager at PG Tops Travel and Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi there

Pleased as punch that you enjoyed Romney Park, it is one of our preferred hotels for five star value at fair pricing. Also happy that you are one of Erica's many satisfied guests, her passion for SA coupled with her warm personality is a winner.

And noted on the payment issue. The waiting time at foreign exchange at the airport is quite an irritation for us in the tourism industry - but the flip side to your inconvenience is that we largely avoided the worldwide financial crisis in 2008 due to the stringent control procedures.

Luckily, we offer Paypal and direct online payments as alternatives, and we were able to sort it out quick quick. We've worked hard at having a menu of payment options for our clients and I am delighted that we could also solve your problem.

Please come visit us again soon!

Pieter G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rudi was a great guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We did several tours around Cape Town with Rudi and he was awesome. He was very knowledgeable about the city and surrounding areas. We enjoyed that PG Tops allowed us to customize our trips. We also employed PG Tops for rides to and from the airport (with Yolanda and Peter), and they provided friendly, prompt service. You can't go wrong with PG Tops!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajlopez114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PG Tops Travel and Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to PG Tops Travel and Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing