We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #387 of 1,136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

One of the favorite of my grandson..... every time you ask him where to eat and the answer would be Ocean Basket.... Most of the sea food served here is great... I am for the fish and chips but my grandson was for Calamari....Price are quite reasonable and the quality is just great...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    128
    47
    55
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice for Seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Well known Ocean Basket restaurant is famous place for tourists. I visited one in V&A Waterfront mall, it was quite good. And they miss calculated my credit cards, I found it after I came back home. I sent a e-mail to them, and they soon refunded the miss calculation. It was good customer care service. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterShin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot in the V&A waterfront area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This area, while worth seeing, was too touristy for our tastes, so we were skeptical about finding a decent lunch here. Our driver recommended Ocean Basket for its seafood platter, and he was right--it is excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Platter for 1 THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I always enjoy the platter for one with the special sauce. The portion and variety makes it an awesome and value meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozzies18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant with stunning view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Situated in the tourist Waterfront area, although commercialised, this seafood restaurant is still superb. With friendly staff, reasonable prices and Table Mountain as the back drop makes this a tough one to beat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing