We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Three Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MannaBay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Rosmead(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
2Inn1 Kensington(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Bay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kensington Place(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikhaya Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
84
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceminute drivetable mountainb bnice poolcomfortable bedsgreat locationcamps bayperfect stayfour nightshostscapefacilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

...I stayed at "Southern Guest Lodge" during the 2 last weeks of march. A friend told me to visit that place once being in Cape Town. I found a house with 5-6 bedrooms modern in style but sometimes also using african elements all arranged to the best of taste. The view from the roof-deck is tramendous: Table Mountain, Lion Head, downtown Cape Town ...and an ideal place to take your sundowner. Breakfast was taken in a light room with windows all around. A good place to exchange travel recommendations. Besides that Michael & Hans-Juergen (the managers) are 2 communicative guys always friendly and supportiv. Finally I almost forgot the eggs Windy prepares for each guest individually. All together a great stay and I am glad that I got this recommendation.
Reiner from Munich

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable and cosy stay here, just as nice as we hoped-for.
Very elegantly and poshly designed and furnished.View from the roof terrace was breathtaking, could have stayed there forever..
Our hosts organized us perfect one day tour, we experienced everything we wanted and much, much more (Cape of Good Hope, African penguins etc). Also our kids loved and would have stayed longer, unfortunately had a change to stay only 2 nights. Breakfast was worth taking.

Room Tip: Room 1st floor with own terrace was nice. We were 2 adults and 2 kids (15 and 9 yrs)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host-SouthernComfort, Owner at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

thank you so much, Kati - and have a wonderful spring and summer in Europe.
Kind Regards
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed for the Cape Argus race - great guys who run this B&B. Excellent accommodation, spotlessly clean, very accommodating when needed early breakfast and ideal location. Certainly recommended and I would also take my family back when go to Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a very pleasant stay and were immediately feeling home as we were welcomes by the hosts, Michael and Hans. Location in Oranjezicht is close to downtown Cape Town, and also it's quite convenient to go to Table Mountain. And most of all, it's a safe neighborhood and restaurants are in walking distance and you can actually walk to some nearby restaurants, not needing to worry about taxis, etc. The rooms are very new, you are welcomes with a bottle of wine. All guests sit together at the breakfast table and enjoy a good varitey of breakfast food. The roof top is accessible and spacious and great to realx, take some good pictures and just enjoy the beauty of Cape Town. And all this came with a very reasonable accommodation rate - so really good value for money. Clearly recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I've stayed here several times whilst in Cape Town on business. Great location - near the CBD, yet quiet. Beautiful views from breakfast room and rooftop over the City and the harbour.
Great hosts - with a personalised attention - good and solid German hospitality!!
The rooms are very beautifully designed - with exquisitely partioned bathroom-areas. Also - a great place to go for an early morning (or late afternoon) jog!!! All along the foot of Table Montain. Or - if you're up to it - right up to the cable-way-road!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews